"The whole [orchestra] is greater than the sum of its parts [individuals]."
FIND OUT why orchestra is great for you!              

Chamber Orchestra 
2015-2016 school year
  • Extended audition opportunity for 10/11 grade.
  • Open to current 9 graders.
  • 3 oct scales and new music required.
  • Click HERE for more details  


Congratulations BHSO!
All 3 orchestras received 
Superior Ratings!
I'm very proud of you all.



What kind of note is this?
 click here for the answer




Parents click HERE to 
report schedule conflicts
Calendar details below
* all BHSO                        ! specific group
!    Tuesday, March 24 at Westwood HS
         Chamber Auditions for R2HS Honor Orchestra
          TIMES HERE
!    April 6 - 10
        R2 HS CO at Westwood High School, travel form
!    April 21 , 6:30
        Land/Knott Studio Recital
!    Fri/Sat, May 1/2
        Solo/Ensemble Contest at Dreher HS
*    Monday, May 18, Gymnasium
        Spring Concert , 6;30
        reception following concert, bring a dessert to share!
*    Monday, June 1
        Open auditions for chamber , video due

SCHOOL YEAR 15'-16'
*    Thursday, Oct. 29 2015
        BHS Fall Concert, 6:30 pm
        Concert Attire (optional Halloween accessory)
*    Thursday, March 3, BHS auditorium
        Pre-Festival Concert , 6:30

Looking Back
*    Wednesday, August 20
  • Welcome back!  Click the Cordé-ly agenda on the left.
  • Special NOTE: Freshmen violins/violas, if you used a school owned instrument in middle school, please procure a violin or viola from a store this summer.  BHS does not have violins or violas to rent or borrow.  
!    Friday, August 22
      Cello/Bass School Instrument Rental Form due
!    Friday, August 29
      Cello/Bass $40 School Instrument fee due  
        Region Orchestra $5, audition fee due
!    Sunday, September 7
  • I highly encourage you to consider auditioning for the SCPYO. Click HERE to contact Judy Lawrence for audition information!  Her info is there at the bottom of the page.
*    Friday, Sept. 12
        T Shirt Money due
        Bring money to class, fill out form online
!    Fri&Sat, Sept. 12&13
          Cello Choir at Furman
!    Wednesday, October 1
        Painting Party, 9th graders only
        Pictures Posted
        3:45 until 5:30, have rides waiting
!    Saturday, Oct. 4
        Crossroads Middle School , map
*    October 15, 17, 18, 19
        Click the link for info and tickets!
!     Chamber Orchestra GIG
        Wednesday, October 29
        R2 Conference Center, 4:20 to 5:30 , MAP

        Attire is concert black
*    Thursday, Oct. 30
        BHS Fall Concert, 6:30 pm
        Concert Attire (optional Halloween accessory)
!    Fri&Sat, Nov. 21&22
  • Region Orchestra Clinic
  • Irmo High School , map
  • Bus to Irmo HS Friday only, provide own transportation home Friday and all day Saturday.
*    Mon/Tue , Nov. 24 and 25
  • Little Fiddles Elves Workshop 
  • painting party after school until 5:30
  • Limited Space available!  You must sign up to attend
  • Sign up here, select ONLY ONE of the 2 days.
!    Sunday, November 30
  • Town of Blythewood Christmas Tree Lighting
  • Town Hall, Langford Rd near new park!
  • arrive at 4, done at 7
  • Attire is Yuletide Casual 
  • SIGN UP TO PLAY HERE
*    Sunday, December 7

*    Friday, December 12, 
  • Holiday Wishes Assembly during school
  • report to Gym at 8:35 am
  • Attire is Yuletide Casual, seating by grade below

!    Wednesday, December 17
!    Thursday, December 18
  • District Office Breakfast Chamber performance
  • Spring Valley Country Club
  • arrive at 7:00 am, done at 8:00 am
  • stay there for breakfast.
  • miss part of 1st period, excused until 9:00 am
  • Sign up to play here
!    Thursday/Friday, December 18/19
!    Saturday, January 10
        All State Orchestra Auditions, Times on email
        Lexington High School , map
!    Fri-Sun, Feb 20-22
        All State Orchestra Event
        River Bluff High School , map
            Bus to RBHS Friday only, provide own transportation home Friday and all day Saturday and Sunday.
*    Sunday, January 25
  • Omega Psi Phi Talent Competition
  • application
  • PRIZE MONEY AWARDED!
  • See Lt. Col. White for further details
*    Wednesday, February 25, Atrium
        4:00 pm on the Bengal in the Atrium

*    Tuesday, March 3, BHS auditorium
        Pre-Festival Concert , 6;30

*    Friday, March 20
        Concert Festival at Keenan High School , MAP
            Check your emails for details
            9th Grade, arrive at 5:00 pm
            Concert, arrive at 6:00 pm 
            Chamber TRAVEL FORM