The Sherlock Holmes Canon


Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

The complete Sherlock Holmes, penned by Arthur Conan Doyle consists of 4 novels* and 56 short stories published between 1887 and 1927.


The list below is arranged by the date the story was published
Click on each title and it will take you to a full text of the story

Stories of the Great Detective, Mr Sherlock Holmes as set forth by Dr. John Watson.


*Study in Scarlet- (published Christmas, 1887-story set in March, 1881)

*Sign of the Four- (published February, 1890-story set in September, 1888)

Scandal in Bohemia- (published July, 1891-story set in May, 1887)

Red-Headed League- (published August, 1891-story set in October 1887)

Case of Identity- (published September, 1891-story set in October 1887)

Boscombe Valley- (published October, 1891-story set in June, 1889)

Five Orange Pips- (published November, 1891-story set in September 1887) 

Twisted Lip- (published December, 1891-story set in June 1887)

BLUE CARBUNCLE- (published January, 1892-story set in December, 1887)

Speckled Band- (published February, 1892-story set in April 1883)

Engineer’s Thumb- (published March, 1892-story set in Septenber, 1889)

Noble Bachelor- (published April, 1892-story set in October 1886)

Beryl Coronet- (published May, 1892-story set in December, 1890)

Copper Beeches- (published June, 1892-story set in April, 1889)

Silver Blaze- (published December, 1892-story set in September, 1890)

Cardboard Box- (published January, 1893-story set in August-September 1889)

Yellow Face- (published February, 1893-set in April, 1888)

Stockbroker’s Clerk- (published March, 1893-story set in June, 1889)

The Gloria Scott- (published April, 1893-story set in July-September, 1874)

Musgrave Ritual- (published May, 1893-story set in October, 1879)

ReigatePuzzle- (published June, 1893-story set in April, 1887)

Crooked Man- (published July,1893-story set in September 1889)

Resident Patient- (published August 1893-story set in October, 1886) 

Greek Interpreter- (published September, 1893-story set in September, 1888)

Naval Treaty- (published October, 1893-story set in July-August, 1889)

Final Problem- (published December, 1893-story set in April-May, 1891)

*Hound of the Baskervilles- (published August, 1901-April, 1902-story set in September-October, 1888)                                     

Empty House- (published September, 1903-story set in April, 1894)

Norwood Builder- (published October, 1902-story set in August. 1895)

Solitary Cyclist- (published December, 1903-story set in April, 1895)

Dancing Men- (published December, 1903-story set in July-August, 1898)

Priory School- (published January, 1904-story set in May, 1901)

Black Peter- (published February, 1904-story set in July, 1895)

Chas. Augustus Milverton- ( published March, 1904-story set in January, 1899)

Six Napoleons- (published April, 1904-story set in June, 1900)

Three Students- (published June 1904-story set in April, 1895)

Golden Pince-Nez- (published July, 1904-story set in November, 1894)

Missing Three-Quarter- (published August 1904-story set in December, 1896)

Abby Grange- (published September, 1904-story set in January, 1887)

Second Stain- (published December, 1904-story set in October, 1886)

Wisteria Lodge- (published August, 1908-story set in March, 1890)

Bruce-Partington Plans- (published December, 1908-story set in November, 1895)

Devil’s Foot- (published December, 1910-story set in March, 1897)

Red Circle- (published March, 1911-story set in September, 1902)

Lady Frances Carfax- (published December, 1911-story set in July, 1902)

Dying Detective- (published November, 1913-story set in November, 1887)

*Valley of Fear- ( published September, 1914-May 1915-story set in January, 1888)

His Last Bow- (published September, 1917-story set in August 1914)

Mazarin Stone- (published October, 1921-story set in Summer, 1903)

Thor Bridge- (published February, 1922-story set in October, 1900)

Creeping Man- (published March, 1923-story set in September, 1903)

Sussex Vampire- (published January, 1924-story set in November, 1896)

Three Garridebs- (published October, 1924-story set in June, 1902)

Illustrious Client- (published November, 1924-story set in September, 1902)

Three Gables- (published September, 1926-story set in May, 1903)

Blanched Soldier- (published October, 1926-story set in January, 1903)

Lion’s Mane- (published November, 1926-story set in July-August, 1909)

Retired Colourman- (published December, 1926-story set in July, 1898)

Veiled Lodger- (published January, 1927-story set in October, 1896)

Shoscombe Old Place- (published March, 1927-story set in May, 1902)



                                                         NMSOBC Copyright 2009-2016 all rights reserved