Home

BLT in Reference Workshops
Thursday 4/7/11 10:00 AM  -  2:30 PM
Thursday 4/14/11 10:00 AM  -  2:30 PM

Join the Reference Staff of the Worcester Public Library to learn about reference service. This series is especially designed for non-masters degree library directors in communities under 10,000. Participation in all segments (two classes plus assignments online) fulfills the Reference component of the Basic Library Techniques requirement set by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners. This is the first class of 2 and will be followed by the final class in Worcester on April 14. Please register for each class separately. Bring a lunch that doesn't require refrigeration; drinks will be provided.



Training Schedule


BASIC LIBRARY TECHNIQUES IN REFERENCE

https://sites.google.com/site/bltreference/

Presented and funded by the Massachusetts Library System (MLS)

 

Day 1 – Thursday, 4/7/11   10:00 am - 2:30 pm

10:00-10:30     Overview of reference, traditional and new, professional standards and ethics
                         Doreen Velnich, Head of Reference, dvelnich@worcpublib.org, 508-799.1654


10:30 -11:10    Reference interview skills and search catalog tips
                       
Paul Pelletier, Government Documents Librarian and Reference Supervisor, ppelletier@worcpublib.org, 508-799.1701

 

11:10-11:20     Break


11:20 - 12:30    Basic print reference resources

                        Mary Cocorochio, Reference Librarian, mcocorochio@worcpublib.org, 508-799-1705


12:30 -1:00      Lunch


1:00 - 1:45       Reference services for children

                        Anne Hrobsky, Head of Youth Services, ahrobsky@worcpublib.org, 508-799-1672


1:45 - 2:30       Reference services for teens

                        Rezarta Reso, Young Adult Service Librarian, rreso@worcpublib.org, 508-799-1667

 

 

Day 2 - Thursday 4/14/11 10:00 am - 2:30 pm

10:00-11:20     Basic online resources: gale reference and databases, web resources & referral

                        Mary Cocorochio, Reference Librarian


11:20-11:30     Break

 

11:30 - 12:30   Genealogy, health and grants resources and outreach programs

                        Joy Hennig, Local History and Genealogy Librarian, jhennig@worcpublib.org, 508-799-1670

                        Mora McAvey, Foundation Center and Outreach Librarian, mmcavey@worcpublib.org, 508-799-1663


12:30 -1:00      Lunch

 

1:00-2:00         What's new in reference? virtual reference and social media

                        Pingsheng Chen, eResources and eReference Supervisor, pchen@worcpublib.org, 508-799-1701

                        Priya Subramanian, Reference Librarian, psubramanian@worcpublib.org, 508-799-1663


2:00 - 2:30       Exploring e-readers (Kindle, NookColor and Ipad), and questions & answers 

                         Pingsheng Chen, Mary Cocorochio,  Priya Subramanian and others