Formed in 1981 (under the name ‘Capture’ until 1982), Black Knight has been a driving force in the Dutch metal scene for more than 35 years. After releasing two demos in the 80s and early 90s, the band’s long awaited first full-length came out in 1998 on Aeon Records carrying the title “Tales from the Darkside”. In the wake of the album’s release Black Knight went on tour including shows in the Benelux, Germany and Bulgaria until their second album “The Beast Inside” was released in the year 2007.

Among the many highlights of Black Knight’s long career are appearances at the Heavy Metal Maniacs Festival in 2013 and the German Swordbrothers Festival in 2016. The band also acquired a number of support slots for national and international major acts such as Sabaton, Annihilator, Tygers Of Pan Tang, Normaal, Vengeance and Warrant and they reached the finals of the Dutch Metal Battle in 2003.

Over the years Black Knight has had many changes of personnel, but drummer and founding member Rudo Plooy has been a constant factor. The current line-up is completed by vocalist David Marcelis, guitarists Ruben Raadschelders and Gertjan Vis, and bassist Ron Heikens. Since 2017 the band has been working on its third full-length album titled “Road to Victory”. It was recorded and mixed by Gertjan Vis over the course of 2019 and then mastered by Jacob Hansen in Denmark.

The album hit the streets in June 2020 via Pure Steel Records and was followed by a re-issue of Black Knight’s debut album “Tales From the Darkside”, remastered, with new artwork and with a selection of exclusive bonus tracks.

Hopeful that in 2021 the restrictions on events and travel due to COVID-19, the band is currently developing new songs and preparing to tour Europe next year. Sharper and faster than ever before, Black Knight is coming for you!

BLACK KNIGHT are (from left to right):

Ruben Raadschelders – Guitars

Gertjan Vis – Guitars

David Marcelis – Vocals

Ron Heikens – Bass

Rudo Plooy – Drums

Photo credits: Cindy van Stralendorff