Home‎ > ‎

Parish Council

The Parish Council is made up of five councillors and is elected every four years. Parish councils are the oldest form of civil government in England (older than county councils and far older than the present district councils); they are the successors of the earlier church parish councils which now exist as parochial church councils.

Council meetings are held bi-monthly in the evenings at Bighton Village Hall. Parishioners are invited to attend and can ask questions or raise concerns at the end of the meeting. We are part of the Alresfords ward of Winchester City Council. City Councillors together with our County Councillor often attend our meetings and provide valuable input. There is an annual parish assembly in May of each year which parishioners are encouraged to attend.

Minutes and the agenda for each meeting can be found on this site.

Bighton Parish Council - Councillors
  • Chairman: Nicholas Ashford T: 01962 732324
  • Sarah Jackson
  • Ian Johnson
  • Charlie McCowen
  • Mike Manley
  • Parish Clerk: Sarah White T: 01962 733216 E: clerk.bighton@parish.hants.gov.uk

City Councillors

County Councillor

  • Councillor Jackie Porter T: 01962 791054  E: jackie.porter@hants.gov.uk representing the Itchen Valley ward of Hampshire County Council.

Freedom Of Information and the Parish Councillors Register of Interests

Under the Freedom of Information Act, parishioners can apply to the Parish Clerk for certain copies of documentation relating to the activities of the Parish Council.

Details of the information which is available can be found within the attached document.

The Parish Councillors Register of Interests can be found by following this link.


Parishioners and the Bighton Parish Council are invited to comment on planning applications within the parish. Applications within the parish can be accessed via the Planning Portal.

Further information can also be found on the Winchester City Council website.

Parish Council Minutes

Minutes of the Parish Council meetings can be found by clicking on the appropriate link below;

The minutes are draft until approved at the subsequent Parish Council Meeting.


  • TBA

Future Meetings

  • 12 September 2017
  • 14 November 2017

Transparency Code

The Transparency Code for Smaller Authorities 2014, issued by the Department of Communities and Local Government, places an obligation on parish councils to publish certain documentation to enable local electors and ratepayers to access relevant information about the authorities's accounts and governance.

Accordingly the information held by Bighton Parish Council can be found by following the links below.


Minutes of earlier Parish Council meetings can be found in the archive.
Subpages (1): Parish Council Archive