Geographic Profile & Capabilities

The Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao region was first created on August 1, 1989 through Republic Act No. 6734 otherwise known as the Organic Act in pursuance with a constitutional mandate to provide for an autonomous area in Muslim Mindanao. The ARMM was officially inaugurated on November 6, 1990 in Cotabato City, which was designated as its provisional capital.

The region is divided into two geographical areas – the Mindanao mainland and the Sulu Archipelago. Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao Provinces are situated in the Mindanao mainland, while Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi Provinces are located within the Sulu Archipelago. ARMM covers a total of 12,288 km².

At present, BFP-ARMM consists of one (1) regional office located in Cotabato City, five (5) provincial fire offices and fifty three (53) fire stations comprises of two (2) city fire stations, forty nine (49) municipal fire stations and two (2) sub-station. Leaving sixty seven (67) municipalities that doesn’t have a fire station and thirty four (34) fire stations that doesn't have fire trucks.

As of August 2016, there are six hundred sixty six (666) BFP ARMM personnel and a total of thirty-three (33) serviceable fire vehicles and one (1) Ambulance to be utilized in serving and protecting BFP-ARMM against destructive fires and other emergencies.