2017 Short Story Award


Announcing the Winners of the 
2017 Short Story Award

First Place
Suzanne Purvis of Shalimar, FL
"Casting Off"
This story will appear in the forthcoming anthology
Untethered: Sweet, Funny, and Strange Tales of the Paranormal, due out in September, 2018

Second Place
Leigh Saunders of Sandy, UT
"The Last First Time

Third Place
Eleanor Ingbretson of Pike, NH
"1977--The Bronx"

Honorable Mentions 
(in alphabetical order by author's last name)
Epiphany Ferrell of Dongola, IL for "Phone Service"
Phil Giunta of Allentown, PA for "So Hungry . . ."
Robert McCrillis of Doylestown, PA for "Semper Fi"
Joan Wright Mularz of Boxford, MA for "The Souk"
Robert Walton of King City, CA for "Tag Team"
Laurel Wilczek of Saylorsburg, PA for "Lara"

Our 2017 Guest Judge 

Carrie Vaughn
is best known for her New York Times bestselling series of novels about a werewolf 
named Kitty who hosts a talk radio show for the supernaturally disadvantaged, the fourteenth installment of which is Kitty Saves the World.  Her forthcoming novels include a near-Earth space opera, Martians Abroad, from Tor Books, and a post-apocalyptic murder mystery, Bannerless, from John Joseph Adams Books.  She has written several other contemporary fantasy and young adult novels, as well as upwards of 80 short stories.  She's a contributor to the Wild Cards series of shared world superhero books edited by George R. R. Martin and  a graduate of the Odyssey Fantasy Writing Workshop. An Air Force brat, she survived her nomadic childhood and managed to put down roots in Boulder, Colorado.  Visit her at http://www.carrievaughn.com.