Belmont University Honors Program Documents

Belmont University
The Belmont University Honors Council meets 8 times per semester and has the authority to overwrite the University Catalog, so accuracy and deadlines are very important.  
This page contains all of the information and forms you need to submit your 1) Declaration of Honors Track; 2) Plan of Study with Letter of Advocacy; and 3) Thesis Prospectus with Cover Page

1) The Declaration of Honors Track is submitted fall of the sophomore year.  

2) The Plan of Study (POS) is a requirement to graduate.  The University Registrar will not allow Honors students to graduate without an approved POS on file.  
The POS
 is an official university record of the courses that were approved by the Honors Council to make up your curriculum.  You can submit a Catalog POS (no changes), a Modified POS (a few courses changed), or an Individualized Major POS (original combination of courses for unique major not offered in the catalog).  
If your POS was approved once, you do not need to resubmit to make changes; simply get a Program of Study Change (Substitution Form) from the Registrar, write out changes, and have it signed.  Editable Forms and Documents are attached to each specific page.  
Please submit to honors@belmont.edu.  We accept only electronic documents (no hard copies please).  Scanned PDF files are okay.  
If HON students do not have a POS approved by the Honors Council by the end of their sophomore year, a hold will be placed on their accounts preventing registration.  A Letter of Advocacy or email from an Advisor is submitted along with the POS.

3) All HON Scholarship and Artist's Studio students must submit a Thesis Prospectus by the end of their junior year.

Documents must be received at 12:00 noon on the Friday one week in advance of the Honors Council scheduled meetings.  
Spring Semester 2014 meeting dates: Jan. 17, 31, Feb. 14, 28, Mar. 14, 28, Apr. 4 and 11 in the Dean's Conference Room, WHB 101D from 12:00-2:00. Meetings will be cancelled or shortened depending on the number of submissions. 

All submissions should be sent to: honors@belmont.edu 

Full-Time Honors Program Faculty and Staff:
Dr. Devon Boan (The Artist's Studio); devon.boan@belmont.edu
Dr. Joe Byrne (HON Humanities Core Professor); joe.byrne@belmont.edu (on sabbatical Fall 2013)
Dr. Andrew Johnston (Project LEAD); andrew.johnston@belmont.edu
Dr. Jonathan Thorndike (Honors Program Director and Scholarship Track); jonathan.thorndike@belmont.edu
Dr. Mike Pinter (Analytics and Science and Math Track); mike.pinter@belmont.edu 
Dr. Andrew Davis (HON Humanities Core Professor); andrew.davis@belmont.edu
Ms. Erin Ritter (Office Manager); erin.ritter@belmont.edu

Belmont University Honors Council 2013-14

Andrew Davis (CAS, School of Humanities)
Carrie Harvey (CHS)
Dan Johnson (CVPA, Art)
Brad Childs (COBA)
James Al-Shamma (CVPA, Theatre and Dance)
Mark Volker (CVPA, School of Music)
Rachael Flynn-Hopper (CAS, School of Education)
Nathan Griffith (CAS, Political Sci, School of Social Sciences)
Mike Pinter (CAS, School of Sciences)
Donavan McAbee (School of Religion)
David Schreiber (CEMB)
Tedi Knaak (sophomore student)
Dean Palya (junior student)
John Palmer Rea (senior student)
Jonathan Thorndike (Honors Program Director)

The Honors House
Belmont University
1900 Belmont Blvd.
Nashville, TN, 37212
Phone: 615-460-6472
Ĉ Honors Program Curriculum 2017.xlsx
View Download
  13k v. 1 Apr 8, 2014, 7:04 PM Jonathan Thorndike
Ĉ Honors Program Curriculum 2018.xlsx
View Download
  13k v. 1 Apr 8, 2014, 7:05 PM Jonathan Thorndike