About Us

The Off Reservation Native American Health Commission was enacted by the New Mexico State Legislature in 2008 in response to the lack of health care resources and services for tribal members living in Bernalillo County.  The Commission serves as a voice for off-reservation tribal members who have long been overlooked in policy decisions.  It engages in comprehensive health planning and assists local organizations to identify and secure alternative sources of funding to expand and strengthen the off-reservation health care delivery system.  It provides education, outreach, and advocacy so Native people can participate in the policy decisions that affect their health regardless of where they live.   

Commission Members

Norman Ration, Chair (Navajo/Laguna)

Michael Bird, MPH, Vice-Chair (Kewa/Ohkay Owingeh)

Ronald Reid, PhD, Secretary (Isleta/Laguna)

R.C. Begay (Navajo)

Angelita Benally (Navajo)

Keith Franklin (Sac and Fox)

Jim Jones (Cherokee)

Louise Kahn (Bernalillo County Community Health Council)