BAPC Home‎ > ‎

BAPC Annual Contest

BAPC's 37th Annual Poetry Contest Winners

Category #1    (5 line limit)                    Judge:  Malintha Perera

1st Prize:          Bandit by Juan Sequeira, Pleasant Hill CA

2nd Prize:         Heron by Eileen Malone *, Broadmoor Village CA 

3rd Prize:         At the Laundromat by Lisa Small *, Dublin CA

1st HM:            Yosemite, May 15 by Mary McCarthy *, Oakland CA

2nd HM:           tanka by Neal Whitman *, Pacific Grove CA

3rd HM:           Sometimes circles close ... by Jerry Bolick *, Brisbane CA

Category #2    (15 line limit)                    Judge: Catfish McDaris

1st Prize:          River of Delight by Dave Holt *, Concord CA

2nd Prize:         The Snow Woman by Claire J. Baker *, Pinole CA  

3rd Prize:         Forgetting by Lisa Small *, Dublin CA

1st HM:            Settling for the Earth by Catherine Moran *, Little Rock AR

2nd HM:           Berkeley by Barbara Saunders *, Berkeley CA

3rd HM:           Among the Five Senses by Britt Peter *, Richmond CA

Category #3       (25 line limit)                    Judge: Madeleine Corson

1st Prize:          Make a Living as a Poet by Anita Odena Cruz, Hayward CA

2nd Prize:         In the Cool of the Barn by Eileen Malone *, Broadmoor Village CA     

3rd Prize:         Moving Out, Moving On by Neal Whitman *, Pacific Grove CA

1st HM:            Traces of Memory by Catherine Moran *, Little Rock AR

2nd HM:           Sanctuary by Dave Holt *, Concord CA

3rd HM:           The Cliché by Donald A. Hagelberg *, Berkeley CA

Category #4       (40 line limit)                    Judge: Jared Smith

1st Prize:          Edith by Anita Odena Cruz, Hayward CA    

2nd Prize:         Observances by Dave Holt *, Concord CA  

3rd Prize:         Summer Eve by Catherine Moran *, Little Rock AR

1st HM:            Portrait of the Machinist as a Young Man by Al Averbach *, San Francisco CA      

2nd HM:           Tarantula by Lori Lynne Armstrong *, Pleasant Hill CA

3rd HM:           Arse Poetica (In the Flow) by Al Averbach *, San Francisco CA


* indicates BAPC Member

Special THANKS to Jan Dederick, Contest 37 Chair 

Contest 37 WINNERS CELEBRATION was held in conjunction with BAPC’s monthly open reading on Saturday, February 4, 2017 at Strawberry Creek Lodge, Berkeley. Here's a group photo of the winners who were in attendance that afternoon:

Dave Holt, Barbara Saunders, Mary McCarthy, Anita Odena Cruz,
Lisa Small, Juan Sequeira, Lori Lynne Armstrong,
Britt Peter, Al Averbach


Malintha Perera is an established poet whose work is featured in numerous journals. She writes haiku, tanka, cherita, micropoetry as well as longer poems. Her first published haiku book, An Unswept Path (2015) is a collection of monastery haiku. She resides in Sri Lanka with her family.

Catfish McDaris' best readings were in Paris at the Shakespeare and Co. Bookstore and with Jimmy “the ghost of Hendrix” Spencer in NYC on 42nd St. He’s done over 20 chaps in the last 25 years. He’s been in the New York Quarterly, Slipstream, Pearl, Main St. Rag, Café Review, Chiron Review, Zen Tattoo, Wormwood Review, Great Weather For Media, Silver Birch Press, Mas Tequila Review, and Graffiti and been nominated for 15 Pushcarts, Best of Net in 2010 and 2013, he won the Uprising Award in 1999, and won the Flash Fiction Contest judged by the U.S. Poet Laureate in 2009. Also in The Louisiana Review, George Mason Univ. Press, and New Coin from Rhodes Univ. in South Africa. He’s recently been translated into Spanish, French, Polish, Swedish, Arabic, Mandarin, Bengali, Yoruba, Tagalog, and Esperanto. His 25 years of published material is in the Special Archives Collection at Marquette Univ. in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Madeleine Corson: Part anthropologist, agriculturist, and storyteller, creative director Madeleine Corson leads a design studio in San Francisco. Projects range from a five-inch piece of art that conveys the essential story behind a wine and its place of origin, to producing more than 35 books including a 300-page guideline for the preservation of Yosemite National Park, journals for Stanford University's Fine Art Museum, and a two-volume series for the American Institute of Wine, Food & the Arts. She is a co-founder of the West Marin Review, an awarded literary and arts journal that she and her team design and edit, with a small group of volunteer editors from Point Reyes Station.

Jared Smith's 12th and 13th volumes of poetry will be released in 2017.  He is Poetry Editor of Turtle Island Quarterly, and has served on a number of the country’s leading literary magazines, including The New York Quarterly, Home Planet News, The Pedestal Magazine, and Trail & Timberline, as well as serving on the boards of literary and arts non-profits in New York, Illinois, and Colorado.  His work has appeared in hundreds of journals and anthologies in this country, Canada, Mexico, Europe, and China.


Contest 36 Winners in attendance at the 2/6/16 celebration in Berkeley.

Pictured left to right: 
Dave Holt, Jan Dederick (contest chair), Sherry Sheehan, Claire J. Baker (crouching), 
Daniel Philip Brady, Mary McCarthy, Gary Turchin, Norma King Green, C.O. McCauley

John Rowe,
Jul 29, 2017, 12:55 PM