Fifth Midwest Women in Mathematics Symposium

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
February 25, 2017

In its fifth year, the Midwest Women in Mathematics Symposium (WIMS) moves to IUPUI in Indianapolis in 2017. WIMS highlights scholarly contributions of female mathematicians in the Midwest and stimulates collaborations, networking, and mentoring relations among the participants.

The meeting will include plenary talks by Professor Trachette Jackson and Professor Susan Tolman, ten invited talks, and a satellite colloquium talk on February 24, 2017 in the Department of Mathematical Sciences at IUPUI. The Symposium talks will cover a variety of areas in geometry and topology, dynamical systems and mathematical biology. The day-long Symposium will include a poster session highlighting the work of female graduate students, postdocs, and early career mathematicians and an open problem session during which participants will work in small groups on field-specific problems. A conference lunch will be provided during which there will be round-table discussions to explore issues for women in mathematics. The Symposium is funded by the National Science Foundation through grant DMS-1643130, the Mathematical Biosciences Institute through its Participating Institution Program, and the Department of Mathematical Sciences and School of Science at IUPUI. All applicants are encouraged to apply for funding, especially graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and researchers at small institutions. Travel funding for collaborations after the conference will also be available.

Conference Website:

Organizing Committee:

Julia Arciero
Olguta Buse
Joanna Furno

Plenary Speakers

Trachette Jackson (University of Michigan)
Susan Tolman (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)

Invited Speakers

Adriana Dawes (Ohio State University)
Marisa Eisenberg (University of Michigan)
Tanya Firsova (Kansas State University)
Alexandra Jilkine (University of Notre Dame)
Keiko Kawamuro (University of Iowa)
Laura Schaposnik (University of Illinois Chicago)
Wanda Strychalski (Case Western University)
Ioana Suvaina (Vanderbilt University)
Anush Tserunyan (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)
Liz Vivas (Ohio State University)

Emmy Murphy (Northwestern University) - Satellite Colloquium on 2/24

For more information, please contact Olguta Buse: