Home‎ > ‎Announcements‎ > ‎

The AWM Congratulates Nobel Laureates Strickland and Arnold

posted Oct 23, 2018, 5:27 AM by AWM Web Editor   [ updated Oct 31, 2018, 6:17 AM ]

The AWM congratulates two inspirational women for their outstanding achievements which were recognized by the 2018 Nobel Committee. Donna Strickland was awarded the Nobel Prize in physics for her work in generating high-intensity, ultra-short, optical pulses. Strickland, who is the third woman to win the Nobel Prize in physics, won the award jointly with Gérard Mourou. Additionally, Frances Arnold became the fifth woman to win the Nobel Prize in chemistry for her work on the directed evolution of enzymes.


We are excited and proud as fellow women in STEM to celebrate the extraordinary achievements of these two women, along with the dedication required to pursue their scholarship.