Url Redirector Modified

AWM Activities at the Joint Mathematics Meetings

2019 JMM Workshop

AWM at JMM 2019 - For the full itinerary of AWM sponsored activities including the AWM Workshop program, see the Printable Schedule here.

AWM-AMS Noether Lecture

The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) and the American Mathematical Society (AMS) annually presents the Noether Lecture to honor women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to the mathematical sciences. Emmy Noether was one of the great mathematicians of her time, someone who worked and struggled for what she loved and believed in. Her life and work remain a tremendous inspiration. 

Bryna Kra will give the 2019 AWM-AMS Noether Lecture

Thursday, January 17, 10:05 - 10:55 am, Ballroom I and II, Baltimore Convention Center.

AWM Hill Visit

AWM will hold Hill Visit Training during the 2019 Joint Mathematics Meetings. The event will be held Tuesday, January 15, 2019 from 8:30am - 11:00am in the Johnson Room at the Hilton Baltimore.

If you are interested in joining us for the afternoon Congressional Visits, please email hillvisit@awm-math.org before December 15! More information can be found here.

AWM Business Meeting is open to the public and is generally scheduled on the first day of JMM.

AWM Panel AWM typically sponsors a panel discussion on topics of current interests to its members.  For information about the 2019 panel, Promoting Inclusion in STEM, click here.  For more information about past panels select from the list below:

AWM Poster Session

As part of the AWM 2019 Joint Meetings Workshop in Baltimore. MD in January 2019, there will be a Poster Presentation and Competition. A team of judges will select the top poster. The winner will be offered a prize of a visit to a North American Mathematical Sciences Institute event with basic expenses paid. The prize visit will normally occur within a year of the date of the poster competition unless there are unusual circumstances. The Mathematical Sciences Institutes with the help of Dr. Leslie Hogben, AIM, and Dr. Ulrica Wilson, ICERM, Co-Chairs of the Mathematical Sciences Institute Diversity Committee will work with the recipient of the top poster award to find the best opportunity available for that poster presenter.

AWM Reception and Awards Presentation – open to all JMM conference participants and held immediately after the Gibbs Lecture the first day of the meetings.  The reception is a social event offering an opportunity for AWM to share announcements of interest to the mathematical community, highlight women mathematicians accomplishments and networking.  AWM provides food and a cash bar. In 2019 we will present the winners of the Dissertation Prize, the 2019 class of the AWM Fellows, AWM Service Award, and the Alice T. Schafer Prize.