Base and Prestige Classes

The magic so prevalent in standard d20 campaign settings is completely absent in the Avatar: the Last Airbender world.  In its place there exist four new base classes that allow practitioners to manipulate one of the four classical elements (earth, water, air, and fire).

The following base classes are appropriate for use in the Avatar world:

  • Benders (Version 1.0) (Version 2.0)
  • Barbarian
  • Fighter
  • Knight (published in The Player's Handbook II)
  • Martial Artist
  • Ranger 
  • Ranger (spell-less variant published in Complete Warrior)
  • Rogue
  • Scout (published in Complete Adventurer)
  • Samurai (published in Complete Warrior)
  • Swashbuckler (published in Complete Warrior)

The following Prestige Classes are appropriate for use in the Avatar world:

  • Avenging Executioner (Complete Scoundrel)
  • Battle Trickster (Complete Scoundrel)
  • Bloodhound (Complete Adventurer)
  • Cavalier (Complete Warrior)
  • Combat Trapsmith (Complete Scoundrel)
  • Dai Li Agent (version 2.0) 
  • Dark Hunter (Complete Warrior)
  • Darkwood Stalker (Complete Warrior)
  • Dervish  (Complete Warrior)
  • Disciple of the Healing Waters  (version 2.0)
  • Dread Pirate (Complete Adventurer)
  • Exemplar (Complete Adventurer)
  • Exotic Weapon Master (Complete Warrior)
  • Fist of the Forest (Complete Champion)
  • Frenzied Berserker  (Complete Warrior)
  • Highland Stalker (Complete Adventurer)
  • Invisible Blade (Complete Warrior)
  • Justicar (Complete Warrior)
  • Knight Protector (Complete Warrior)
  • Master Thrower (Complete Warrior)
  • Order of the Bow Initiate (Complete Warrior)
  • Purple Dragon Knight (Complete Warrior)
  • Reaping Mauler (Complete Warrior)
  • Ronin  (Complete Warrior)
  • Spymaster (Complete Adventurer)
  • Streetfighter (Complete Adventurer)
  • Tempest (Complete Adventurer)
  • Thief-Acrobat (Complete Adventurer
  • Uncanny Trickster (Complete Scoundrel)

Individual DM's are encouraged to add additional base classes as they desire, keeping in mind that more traditional magic does not exist in the Avatar world.  Note that the classes in the above list are not necessarily thematically appropriate for all (or even any) games set in the world of Avatar: the Last Airbender, but rather the abilities they grant are abilities that could appear in the setting.