The Studio List

Studios in Red have had recent layoffs or other issues.

Studios in Italic are studios that we are not sure exist, or have incomplete data on. Please feel free to help out by contacting the IGDA Indie SIG.

 

Total: 93

 

Indie/Small Studios: (45)


Axelo - http://www.axelobat.com - 3D Control for PC's

Baygull Studios - http://baygullstudios.com

Bluepoint Games - http://www.bluepointgames.com

Cryptic Allusion - http://cagames.com - Dreamcast and Mac games - email ink doesn't work

D7 - http://d7.com - iPhone games

Deep Plaid - http://www.deepplaid.com/ - Indie iPhone Microstudio - Shay Pierce

Escape Hatch Entertainment - http://www.eschatch.com/ - educational and entertainment titles, Kickstarter: Starlight Inception

Famigo Games - http://www.famigogames.com - family entertainment

Furcadia/Dragon's Eye - http://www.furcadia.com - Self-published Indie MMO

Games on the Down Low - http://gamesonthedownlow.com - iOS games

Gendai Games/GameSalad - http://www.gamesalad.com - Social media and games, GameSalad game creation for Mac, iPad and iPhone

Ghostfire Games - http://www.ghostfiregames.com - WiiWare studio

Hellfire Games - http://www.hellfiregames.com - PS Home studio

InMotion Software - http://inmotionsoftware.com - iPhone studio

Iron Will Games - http://www.ironwillgames.com - Indie MMO published by Pixel Mine Games

Kalani Games - http://www.kalanigames.com - iPad, iPhone, Android, Facebook, Online console/PC, MMO

Karakasa - http://www.karakasagames.com - iOS games

Kot-in-Action Creative Artel - http://www.kot-in-action.com  - Indie PC game studio

Minicore Studios - http://www.minicorestudios.com - small mobile/digital download studio

Mososh - http://www.mososh.com - Indie social studio - Christian Primozich

Monstrous Company - http://monstro.us - Jason Asbahr, iPhone, ARG, etc. studio

Mothership Entertainment - http://mothership-entertainment.com/

Nibble Design - http://www.nibbledesign.com/ - Wii/iPhone/TV games

Night Owl Games - http://www.nightowlgames.net - Facebook games

oeFun - http://www.oefun.com - iPhone games

Orbis Games - http://www.orbisworlds.com - Self-published Indie Casual MMOs

Pangea Software - http://www.pangeasoft.net - Mostly self-published or OEM Indie Mac, iPad and iPhone Games

Paper Child Studios - http://paperchild.com - Purify Puzzle, contract studio

PerfectDork - http://www.perfectdorkstudios.com - Active multiplatform indie studio. (iPhone, iPad, Web, XNA)

Pixel Mine Games - http://www.pixelminegames.com - Indie MMO and iPhone game developer

Playtechtonics - http://www.playtechtonics.com - Self-published Indie MMO

Radioactive Labs - http://www.radioactivelabs.com - Johnathon Vought, art outsourcing and various titles

Renegade Kid - http://www.renegadekid.com - Wii/DS developer, published by SouthPeak

Roxor Games - http://www.roxorgames.com - Indie Arcade and PS2 games

Schell Games - http://schellgames.com - Sheri Graner Ray, casual/online games, Disney stuff

Seamless Entertainment - http://www.seamlessentertainment.com

Semi Secret Software - http://semisecretsoftware.com - iPhone and Flash games, Flixel, Adam Saltsman

Smashing Studios - http://www.smashingstudios.com - iPhone games

Snakehead Software - http://www.snakeheadsoftware.com - iPhone games

Sneaky Games - http://www.sneakygames.com - Social games on mobile and web/Facebook, Free-To-Play and RPGs

Starlit Sky Games - http://www.starlitskygames.com - Indie XNA game studio

Steel Penny Games - http://steelpennygames.com/newsite/

Tandem Games - http://www.TandemGames.com - PC Games and web MMO

Tiger Style - http://tigerstylegames.com - iOS games

Twisted Pixel - http://www.twistedpixelgames.com - XBLA games and an unannounced MMO

Zeolite Studios - http://www.facebook.com/ZeoliteStudiosInc - working on 4 unannounced titles + Steel Storm AMMO on Steam


Major Studios: (24)


Armature - http://www.armature.com - Experimental Game Studio

Certain Affinity - http://www.certainaffinity.com - Halo and Source-engine Game Developer, 360 version of Left 4 Dead, Age of Booty, etc

Cloud Imperium - http://www.cloudimperiumgames.com - Chris Roberts

Crytek - http://crytek.com/career/studios/overview/austin

Disney - Junction Point Studios - Epic Mickey - CLOSED

Disney - Playdom - social games, studio head - CLOSED

EA Bioware - http://www.bioware.com - MMO studio, Star Wars: The Old Republic

EA Pogo - http://www.pogo.com - Casual studio

EA Sports - http://ea.com

Edge of Reality - http://www.edgeofreality.com - Console Game Developer, Sims 3 for Consoles

Heatwave Interactive - http://www.heatwave.com - MMO, iPhone, social studio

Kabam - http://www.kabam.com - Social games on iOS and web/Facebook, Google+, Kongregate, Pokki. Free-To-Play Hardcore MMO's

KingsIsle - http://www.kingsisle.com - MMO studio

Lightbox - http://www.lightboxinteractive.com - Starhawk for PS3

Loot Drop - http://www.lootdrop.com - social games, published by RockYou, John Romero, Tom Hall, Brenda Brathwaite (moved to CA)

OMGPOP - http://www.omgpop.com - browser, Facebook, and mobile games (acquired by Zynga, unsure if this office exists now)

Panic Button Games - http://www.panicbuttongames.com - Wii and 360 games

Portalarium - http://www.portalarium.com - Richard Garriott

Red Fly Studio - http://www.redflystudio.com - Wii/DS Developer, Dan Borth, Star Wars, Thor

Retro Studios - http://retrostudios.com - Nintendo of Austin, Donkey Kong for Wii

Sony Online (SOE) - http://www.sonyonline.com - DCUO-focused studio

Spacetime Studios - http://www.spacetimestudios.com - MMO studio, iPhone and iPad games

Third Wire Productions - http://www.thirdwire.com - Flight Sims

Trion World - http://www.trionworld.com - MMOs

Total Immersion (now called Intific) - http://www.totimm.com - Serious games

Vigil - CLOSED

Zenimax - Arkane Studios - http://www.arkane-studios.com - Harvey Smith

Zenimax - Battlecry - http://www.battlecrystudios.com - Rich Vogel

Zynga Austin - http://www.zynga.com - Online CCGs (Challenge Games acquired Mock Science and was subsequently acquired by Zynga)


Publishers: (4)

EA, Nintendo, SOE have studios but not publishing arms in town

Aspyr - http://www.aspyr.com - Publisher, Developer and Port Creator. 50+% Mac game market.

Devolver - http://www.devolverdigital.com - Publisher for Serious Sam HD

Replay Games - http://www.replaygamesinc.com - Paul Trowe, casual/social titles

Thriller Publishing - http://www.thrillerpublishing.com - Bill Stealey, cofounder of Microprose


Other/Specialized Studios: (20)


22nd Century Toys - http://www.22ndcenturytoys.com

(Activision) Blizzard - http://www.blizzard.com - Customer Service for WoW

Big Solutions Group - http://www.bigsolutionsgroup.com - Game Marketing/Consulting

Critical Mass Interactive - http://www.criticalmassinteractive.com - Outsourcing studio, Billy Cain

Funky Rustic - http://www.funkyrustic.net - Game Audio

GL33K - http://gl33k.com - Game Audio

Merge Interactive - http://www.mergeinteractive.com

Meta3D - http://meta3dstudios.com

Multimedia Games - http://www.multimediagames.com - Casino Games

NCSoft - http://www.ncsoft.com or http://www.plaync.com - QA/CS

Online Alchemy - http://www.onlinealchemy.com - Indie Game Backend Developer

Planet Texas Studios - http://www.planettexasstudios.com - 2D/3D Animation

Powerhouse Animation - http://www.powerhouseanimation.com

Real Normal Productions - http://realnormal.com - ad agency

Sparkleworks Multimedia - http://www.sparkleworks.com - Game Design Services

Steve Jackson Games - http://www.sjgames.com - Tabletop Game Developer 

SurvivorSoft - http://www.survivorsoft.com - Mobile studio

Susan O'Connor - http://www.storiesforgames.com - Writer

The Fat Man - http://www.fatman.com - Music and Sound Design for Games, Exclusive Conferences (BBQ/Horseshoe), George Sanger (moved to CA)

Toucan Studio - http://www.toucanstudio.com - art outsourcing

  

We are still gathering information on the studios below in order to categorize them (please help out!) (1)


Birch Tree Group - http://birchtreegroup.com


Comments