Reviews

REVIEWS


Recent - Tea Time Magazine - Details to follow

January 16, 2012 - Montreal Gazette
- "Tea is a way to infuse your day with calm and clarity"
Excerpt: "[Frank Hadley Murphy's] essay is part of a delightful new anthology, A Tea Reader (Tuttle Publishing, $18.95), by tea lover and writer Katrina Ávila Munichiello, a collection of stories about memories experienced over tea."
Click here to read the full post.


Winter 2011 - 2012 - TEA: A Magazine - Book reviews
The review: "Louisa May Alcott, Sir Thomas J. Lipton, Robert Fortune, and other writers of the past have had their expressions on tea revisited by Katrina Ávila Munichiello's compilation of tea stories. She has included the experiences of modern day tea enthusiasts and writers (Ten of whom have contributed in the past to TEA A MAGAZINE), giving the reader insight into five chapters of life in tea: Tea Reveries, Tea Connections, Tea Rituals, Tea Careers, and Tea Travels. All together these stories show that tea is not simply a drink, but that it is the perfect beverage that stimulates yet calms. Tea experiences visiting tea plantations add new dimensions to the respect given to this esteemed beverage. The writers convey their feelings of how tea has changed and moved their lives. Katrina Ávila Munichiello is a freelance writer, blogger, and tea lover. This is an easy read to enjoy while sipping your favorite cup of tea.
 

December 21, 2012 - USA Today - "Reading the tea leaves is easy: A brew can be beneficial"
This is an article for which I was interviewed. The print copy featured a picture of "A Tea Reader."
Click here to read the full post.


December 20, 2011 - PCOS Diva - "Stolen Moments with Tea" guest post
This was actually a guest post I wrote about the joy of tea.
Click here to read the guest entry.


December 14. 2011 - International Tea Moment - "Gail's Picks of the Trade"
Excerpt: "What Katrina Avila Munichiello has accomplished in her book, "A Tea Reader: Living Life One Cup at a Time," is nothing short of delightful. It's the book I wish I could have written."
Click here to read the full post.


December 8, 2011 - The Devotea's Tea Spouts - "Friends, Romans, Countrymen: Listen Up You Load of Bludgers'"
Excerpt: "But to me the wondrous collection of historical documents is the key to the book, and from Ancient China to the near past in the USA, they sing from the pages."
Click here to read the full post.


November 20, 2011 - Tea Lady Mel: A Tea Blogger in Singapore
- "Review: 'A Tea Reader'"
Excerpt: "Now this is the kind of book I’d have loved to put together but I’m just as happy reading this lovingly-curated collection of tea-related writings by Katrina Munichiello. It’s multicultural, spanning across a few hundred years and possesses plenty of heart and soul as these tea lovers share their intimate tea thoughts and memories."
Click here to read the full post.
On December 14, Mel also printed an interview with me about the book. Click here to read it.


November 14, 2011 - Gongfu Girl
- "Reading 'A Tea Reader'"
Excerpt: "There are books that are enjoyable to read because they are about tea, and books particularly well-suited to a read accompanied by a cup of tea. Katrina Avila Munichiello’s recently published anthology of non-fiction writings about tea, “A Tea Reader,” is both of these. "
Click here to read the full post.


November 8, 2011 - English Tea Store Blog  - "Tea Lover's Library 101"
Excerpt: "If you’re interested in reading about tea but you’d like to put aside all the facts, figures, steeping times and other nuts and bolts stuff you might want to give A Tea Reader a try. "
Click here to read the full post.


November 7, 2011 - T Ching  - "'A Tea Reader' - A Tea Review"
Excerpt: "Katrina starts with her story of how she fell in love with tea.  It’s a beautiful story capturing childhood tea memories."
Click here to read the full post.


November 2011 - Adagio's Tea Muse  - "Book Review: 'A Tea Reader'"
Excerpt: "It is a contemplative but simple read that tea novices and tea experts alike can appreciate. "
Click here to read the full post.


October 31, 2011 - The Lazy Literatus - "Making Time for 'A Tea Reader': A [NOT] Book Review"
Excerpt: "This book was tailor made for distractedly slow readers such as myself. Let me explain: The beauty of anthologies is that they can be devoured a piece at a time. A reader can pick it up and put it down at their own pace, even the molasses ones like myself."
Click here to read the full post.


October 31, 2011 - Walker Tea Review - "Review: A Tea Reader"
Excerpt: "A Tea Reader is a welcome addition to the tea book genre, mainly because it blends much of the praiseworthy from the various branches of tea-writings. In its pages, the path is broad enough to move from tea as tangential toward the direct epiphany tea delivers. "
Click here to read the full post.


October 23, 2011 - Esmerelda's Book Thing - "A Tea Reader"
Excerpt: "The editor, Katrina Avila Munichiello, has compiled an incredible array of contemporary essays on tea and tea culture as well as pulling poems and stories from historical writings. "
Click here to read the full post.


October 21, 2011 - Shelf Awareness for Readers - Book Review: Food & Wine
Excerpt: "As autumn arrives, many of us look forward to crisp fall evenings curled up with a steaming mug and a good book. This anthology of essays, stories and poems devoted to the art and comfort of tea is as warm and soothing as that hot cuppa."
Click here to read the full post.


October 20, 2011 - The Tea House Times, Nov/Dec 2011 - "Lady Gayle's Picks of the Trade"
Excerpt: "Five types of stories that will speak to you and inspire you - many written by people you may know."
Also included a reprint of Katrina Ávila Munichiello's essay on Ceremony and Tradition.
Click here to access the publication online. (Registration required, but registration is free.)


October 19, 2011 - Tea with Friends Blog
- "A Tea Reader" by Katrina Ávila Munichiello
Excerpt: "The great surprise with "A Tea Reader," though, is that I have thoroughly enjoyed so very many of these essays and, in fact, found myself wishing this book had been my idea! My hat is definitely off to Katrina Ávila Munichiello for beautifully pulling together such a rich and entertaining group of essays."
Click here to read the full post.


October 17, 2011 - Publishers Weekly, Nonfiction Review
Excerpt: "Like fine wine, savoring a cup of tea involves more than expertise. In this charming anthology, freelance journalist and blogger Munichiello provides a refreshing reminder of the days when tea parties evoked thoughts of friendship rather than political differences."
Click here to read the full post.


October 14, 2011 - Much Madness Is Divinest Sense Blog - Friday Finds
Excerpt: "I don’t know what it is, but when the weather cools, I just become sort of obsessed with tea, and there are several tea-related books on my to-read list."
Click here to read the full post.


October 10, 2011 - Monica Bhide A Life of Spice Blog - "A Tea Reader: Living Life One Cup at a Time"
Excerpt: "She sent me a copy of the book and I really loved it so that I asked her to do a guest post for me. "
Click here to read the full post.


October 6, 2011 - Blog review - English Tea Store Blog- "Group Book Review - "Tea Reader" by Katrina Ávila Munichiello" (includes reviews by A.C. Cargill, Editor of the English Tea Store Blog; May King Tsang of MayKing Tea; Janis Badarau of TeaGuide.net and William I. Lengemann of Tea Guy Speaks)
Excerpt: "Every time I read another book about tea ― and it seems that there’s been a flurry of these hitting bookstore shelves over the course of the last few years ― I wonder if there’s going to be anything left for the next author to write about. In the case of A Tea Reader, Katrina Munichiello has solved this problem by pulling together a selection of original contributions, as well as a number of pieces with a historical bent." (Lengemann) 
Click here to read the full post.


October 4, 2011 - Blog review - Lahikmajoe Drinks Tea blog - "A Teacup of Friends" (focus on Stephanie Lemmons Wilson's essay)
Excerpt: "[Stephanie's essay is]...a sentimental, in the best sense of the word, look at saying goodbye to tea friends in one place and moving across the country. " 
Click here to read the full post.


September 28, 2011 - Blog review - Lahikmajoe Drinks Tea blog - "First Steeping of Tea Reader"
Excerpt: "So here’s my announcement of a book I’m really excited about. The Tea Reader is by a writer called Katrina Ávila Munichiello...and she’s really put together a gem of a book.
Click here to read the full post.



ENDORSEMENTS


Mary Lou Heiss, Co-author of The Story of Tea and The Tea Enthusiasts Handbook
"Like a fragrant pot of tea, this well-curated collection of personal narratives is full-bodied, bracing and delicious. Cozy up in a comfortable chair (with your favorite cuppa, of course) and lose yourself in the keen enthusiasm of this convivial group of tea lovers as they weave personal memories and heartfelt experiences about the importance of tea in their lives. This is a richly rewarding compendium that speaks to the passion and allegiance of tea drinkers."


Joseph P. Simrany, President of the Tea Association of the USA, Inc.
"A glimpse into the lives and souls of people who share a common passion; their unrelenting love for tea. A must-read for tea enthusiasts and those who soon will be."


Tracy Stern, Founder of SALONTEA and author of Tea Party and Tea for You
"Katrina brilliantly captures the romance and journey of tea."


Shozo Sato, Professor emeritus at University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
"My recommendation is that reading an anecdote or two with a cup of tea will bring pleasure and appreciation to anyone who enjoys drinking tea."