Who Is Jo?

Kid-Friendly Search Engines and Reference Sites

Check out these kid-friendly search engines and reference sites.  Great to use in your classroom or in a school library or media center.  =)
Showing 21 items
Website NameURLDescription
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Again But Slower http://againbutslower.com/# Again But Slower takes a Wikipedia article and simplifies it so that kids can understand it 
Ask Kids http://www.askkids.com/ A search engine for kids from the search engine Ask, formerly known as Ask Jeevs 
Awesome Library http://www.awesomelibrary.org/ A kid-friendly search engine that allows students to search by keyword or subject area 
Boolify http://www.boolify.org/ A visual search engine based on the Boolean principal; drag puzzle pieces to the search box and add text to those puzzle pieces to create just the right search for what you are looking for 
Compfight http://compfight.com/ A search engine for Flickr images 
Duck Duck Go http://duckduckgo.com/ A search engine that does not track your usage 
Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition http://www.school.eb.com/elementary The Award-winning encyclopedia company has gone online. This kid-friendly version of the encyclopedia makes it easy for kids to find the information they need 
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/ Fact monster is an almanac, dicitonary, thesarus and encyclopedia in one! 
Great Websites for Kids http://www.ala.org/greatsites Websites recommended for kids by the American Library Association 
Internet Public Library for Kids http://ipl.org/div/kidspace/ Search by keyword or subject 
Kidport Reference Library http://www.kidport.com/RefLib/RefLib.htm An online reference library for kids 
KidsClick! http://www.kidsclick.org/ A search engine for kids created by librarians; students can search by keyword, category, letter, or even picture 
Kidsconnect http://www.kidskonnect.com/ A safe way to search the net for information 
Noodle Tools: Noodle Quest http://www.noodletools.com/noodlequest/ Here's an interesting site that asks you questions to find the best search engine for your needs.  
Quintura Kids http://quinturakids.com/ A search engine that uses word clouds to refine your searches 
Qwiki http://www.qwiki.com/ Qwiki is Wikipedia in a simplier, easier to understand format. Video, slideshows, text and audio will come up in a search that will give youngsters get all forms of information about their topic in one spot 
RedZ http://redz.com/home A visual search engine...see the site before you click 
School Wax http://schoolwax.com/?q=category_elementary_school A one-stop shop search engine for kids 
SortFix http://www.sortfix.com/ Makes searches on Google and Bing more useful 
Sweet Search http://www.sweetsearch.com/ A Search Engine for Students. It searches only credible Web sites approved by Internet research experts. 
Yahoo! Kids http://kids.yahoo.com/learn A search engine for kids sponsored by Yahoo!..formerly known as Yahooligans 
Showing 21 items
Comments