2015 ASME Student Mechanism & Robot Design Competition

ASME International Design Engineering Technical Conferences (IDETC)

39th Annual Mechanisms & Robotics Conference

August 2-5, 2015 ~ Boston, Massachusetts, USA




Undergraduate Division

First Place: Design of a Transformable Wheel Robot with Passive Legs (Robot): Carter Hurd, Ohio State University

Second Place: Mechanism Design of a New Brain Retractor for Robotic Neurosurgery (Mechanism): Hsuan-Ping Kuan, National Taiwan University of Science and Technolog

Third Place: Development of an Elephant-Trunk Inspired Compliant Robotic Arm: Yunfang Yang and Yixin Wang, Tsinghua University

Graduate Division

Joint First Place: A Meso-Scale Minimally Invasive Surgical Instrument (Mechanism): Clayton Grames and Jordan Tanner, BYU

Joint First Place: Parallel Haptic Master Device for Steerable Needles (Mechanism): Antonius G.L. (Teun) Hoevenaars, TU Delft

Third Place: BR2 manipulator with a soft gripper (Robot): Naveen Kumar Uppalapati and Xiaotian Zhang, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign


The ASME Student Mechanism and Robot Design Competition is an excellent opportunity for both undergraduate and graduate students to showcase their ability to design and build a mechanism or a robot.

The competition comprises two rounds:

Round 1
: is the qualifying round. Participants submit a letter of intent and a written report on their entry. All entries are evaluated by a panel of judges chosen from academe and industry.  The top five entries in each category qualify for Round 2.
Round 2
:  is the final round that takes place at the 2015 ASME International Design Engineering Technical Conferences in Boston, MA , USA from August 2–5, 2015.  Each team makes an oral presentation describing their entry. They are also allotted display space for an interactive poster and prototype presentation.

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT: Starting this year, limited funds are available to reimburse travel and registration for International participants. Please check the Travel Funds section for more details.

Recently Concluded 2014 Competition

Navigate this site for information regarding this year’s competition.  Please check the Announcements section regularly for important and time sensitive information pertaining to this competition. We look forward to your participation.

Results of the 2014 ASME Student Mechanism Design Contest

Undergraduate Robotics
–Biomimetic Robotic Fish Powered by Hydraulic McKibben Actuators 
–Felix Liu, Seaver Wrisley, Zachary Novak, and John Chiu, Rochester Institute of Technology
–Design of a Gecko Adhesive Climbing Robot 
–Simon Kalouche, Ohio State Univeristy 

Undergraduate Mechanisms
                                                                                                                        •FIRST PLACE 
–Design of Magnetically Activated Origami-Inspired Forceps 
–Adam Shrager, Pennsylvania State University
–Design of a Detachment Mechanism to be used in an Endoscopic Device for Pancreatic Cancer Treatment 
–Katie Ciccaglione, Pennsylvania State University

Graduate Robotics Category
–The Pico-Quadrotor: An Autonomous 20g Micro Aerial Vehicle 
–Yash Mulgaonkar, University of Pennsylvania
–Multifunctional Robot for Natural Orifice for Transluminal Endoscopic Surgery (NOTES) 
–Abolfazl (Sina) Pourghodrat and Tao Shen, University of Nebraska Lincoln 

Graduate Mechanisms Category
–Miniaturized Passively Adaptive Constant Power Linear Actuator 
–Joseph Belter, Yale University 
–Laparoscopic Retractor Based on Local Magnetic Actuation 
–N. Garbin, C. Di Natali, J. Buzz, E. De Momi, P. Valdastri, Vanderbilt Univ. 
–Stair Climbing Platform driven by Conjugate-Wheels 
–Girish Modak, Amruthavahini College of Engineering, Pune, India 
–Compliant Knee Exoskeleton Design 
–Seungkook Jun, Xiaobo Zhu, Madusudanan Sathia Narayanan, State University of New York at Buffalo 



  • Finals Just Concluded
    The finals of the ASME Student Mechanism and Robot competition successfully concluded on Monday, August 18 at the ASME IDETC venue. The results of the contest will be declared on Wednesday August 20th at 10.30 am during the students awards session. Our special thanks to the main judges of the competition

    1) Prof. Illie Talpasanu, Wentworth Institute of Technology
    2) Prof. Nina Robson, California State University, Fullerton
    3) Prof. Jason Moore, Pennsylvania State University
    4) Prof. Craig Lusk, University of Southern Florida
    5) Prof. Jonathan Hopkins, University of California at LA

    Posted Aug 19, 2014, 7:53 AM by Girish Krishnan
Showing posts 1 - 1 of 15. View more »