South Africa 2010

The 2010 school was held on July 17-28 at the African Institute for Mathematical sciences (AIMS), Muizenberg, Cape Town, South Africa. The program of the school, with lecture notes, video recordings, and other material distributed to the participants is available here.

"ASESMA-2010 was not just a two week school. It was the start of an ongoing network for interaction and collaboration. By all accounts, it was a fantastic success. Much of the enthusiasm of the students was due to an innovative program of mentors, motivated young scientists mainly at the post-doctoral level, who worked with the participants one-on-one throughout the school..." [R. Martin]

[read the full report of the chairman of the International Advisory Panel]


R.M. Martin (USA), Chair; O.O. Adewoye (Nigeria); M. Alouani (France); G. Amolo (Kenya); S. Baroni (Italy); P. Borcherds (UK); R. Car (USA); R. Catlow (UK); XinGao Gong (China); J. Gubernatis (USA); W. Kohn (USA); A. Leggett (USA); Yu Lu (China); N. Marzari (UK); S.Y. Mensah (Ghana); B. M'Passi-Mabiala (Congo-Brazzaville); S. Narasimhan (India); C.M.I. Okoye (Nigeria); D. Pettifor (UK); K. Reed (USA); S. Scandolo (Italy); W. Soboyejo (USA); N. Spaldin (USA); P. Woafo (Cameroon) LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE D. Joubert (U. Witwatersrand), Chair; N. Chetty (U. Pretoria); Ph. Ngoepe (U. Limpopo); B. Masara (SAIP)


The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) Trieste

Italy International Union for Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)

National Institute for Theoretical Physics (NITheP)

South Africa South African Institute of Physics (SAIP)


International Center for Materials Research (ICMR), Santa Barbara, USA

Materials Computation Center (MCC), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

DCOMP, American Physical Society, USA

National Research Foundation (NRF), South Africa

DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Strong Materials, South Africa

The unofficial workshop page with participants and school materials can be found here.