Sterling Olmsted Award

The Sterling Olmsted award honors those who have made distinguished contributions to the development and teaching of liberal arts in engineering education. It is the highest award given by the Liberal Education/Engineering & Society (LEES) Division of the ASEE.The recipient will be presented with a personal commemorative award plaque at the ASEE Annual Conference and will have his/her name entered on a permanent list maintained on the the division web site. An awardee cannot receive the award more than once.

1986 Sterling Olmsted

1987 Billy V. Koen

1988 William R. Grogan

1989 Alan Gianniny

1990 John Rae

1991 Mel Kranzberg

1992 John G. Truxal

1993 Samuel C. Florman

1994 Herman Estrin

1995 Lance Schachterle

1996 Jerry W. Gravander

1997 Barbara Olds

1998 Heinz Luegenbiehl

1999 Melvin Cherno

2001 Debra G. Johnson

2002 David F. Ollis

2003 Kathryn A. Neeley

2004 Bruce E. Seely

2005 Joseph R. Herkert

2006 Rachelle Hollander

2007 Caroline Carvill

2008 Gary Downey

2009 Sarah Pfatteicher

2010 Julia Williams

2011 Taft Broome

2012 Donna Riley

2013 Vivian Weil

2014 Cherrice Traver and J. Douglass Klein

2015 Juan Carlos Lucena