Seminars‎ > ‎

IEEE AIT Student Branch Inauguration - Prof. T Srinivas, IISc Bangalore

posted Mar 14, 2016, 1:32 AM by AIT Palakkad   [ updated Mar 14, 2016, 1:49 AM ]

The IEEE AIT Palakkad Student Branch (SB) inauguration ceremony was conducted on 11 March 2016. 
        The function was started with the prayer at 9.30 am in AIT Palakkad seminar hall. Girish N Iyer, the branch counselor of AIT-SB, delivered the welcome speech. The principal Dr.MR Vikraman delivered the presidential address and Dr.T Srinivas, Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, did the inauguration. The felicitation was given by Mr. JishnuPrakash (Hub student representative,Malabar hub) and Ms. Sathi Krishnan (Technical coordinator Malabarhub). Mr. Dhillu Thambi,student chair of IEEE AIT- SB delivered the vote of thanks.
After the inaugural ceremony, Prof. T. Srinivas delivered a talk on “Photonic Integrated Circuits”. Prof.T.Srinivas obtained Masters degree and PHD from IISc Bangalore. He did his Postdoctoral Fellowship at Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan. He is a senior member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Communications Society and an executive committee member of IEEE Bangalore Section in-charge of chapter activities. After the talk he also conducted a discussion on IEEE awareness. 
In the later discussion, a separate discussion was done with IEEE student and staff members of AIT Palakkad with Prof.T.Srinivas. In that meeting he made suggestions to improve the student branch activities.  A meeting of IEEE members and Malabar hub representatives was also done for making AIT chapter an active one.

The Execom members of IEEE AIT – Student branch is as follows:
  1. Student Chair - Mr. Dhillu Thambi
  2. Vice Chair - Ms. Susmitha
  3. Secretary - Ms. Irene Mary Sajan
  4. Joint Secretaries - Ms. Maneesha P.M, Mr. Vinay 
  5. Treasurer - Mr. Abhijith Girin
  6. Web Master - Mr. Midhun P
  7. Branch Counselor - Mr. Girish N Iyer