Home Page‎ > ‎General knowledge‎ > ‎

Islamic New Year

posted 27 Nov 2011, 10:00 by Manal Raafat
I is the day that marks the beginning of a new Islamic calendar year, and is the day on which the year count is incremented. The first day of the year is observed on the first day of Muharram, the first month in the Islamic calendar.

Illustrator artwork 

Islamic calendar  or Hijri calendar

It is a lunar calendar consisting of 12 lunar months in a year of 354 or 355 days. It is used to date events in many Muslim countries (concurrently with the Gregorian calendar), and used by Muslims everywhere to determine the proper day on which to celebrate Islamic holy days and festivals.
The first year was the year during which the emigration of the Islamic prophetMuhammad from Mecca to Medina, known as the Hijra, occurred.
Being a purely lunar calendar, it is not synchronized with the seasons. With an annual drift of 11 or 12 days, the seasonal relation repeats about every 33 Islamic years.
The Islamic months are named as follows in Arabic:
1 - Muḥarram 2 - Ṣafar 3 - Rabīʿ I 4 - Rabīʿ II 5 - Jumādā I 6 - Jumādā II 7 - Rajab 8 - Sha~ba~n 9 - Ramaḍān ( The fasting month ) Ramadan is the most venerated month of the Hijri calendar, during which Muslims fast between dawn and sunset. 10 - Shawwāl 11 - Dhū al-Qaʿda 12 - Dhū al-Ḥijja ( the month of the annual Muslim pilgrimage to Mecca, the Hajj.)

The sacred months

Are the months in which fighting was traditionally ( before Islam ) forbidden.After Islam the fighting during those months is forbidden also as an important religious teachings and orders .
Those four months are Dhū al-Qaʿda ,  Dhū al-Ḥijja ,and Muḥarram  ,and  Rajab