Annual Meeting Award

ARCE DC Francis W. Niedenfuhr

Annual Meeting Award


The D.C. chapter of the American Research Center in Egypt is pleased to offer the Francis W. Niedenfuhr Award, a grant of $500 to support student attendance and participation at ARCE's annual meeting.

Francis Niedenfuhr was a mechanical engineering professor at the Ohio State University and was employed at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency and the MITRE Corporation. He had a great interest in ancient Egypt. He lived in Washington, D.C., for more than 50 years and was president of the Washington D.C. chapter of the American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE DC) for more than 10 years. He also taught Egyptian hieroglyphs at Georgetown University and the Institute for Learning in Retirement. The ARCE DC chapter honors his memory by encouraging the study of Ancient Egypt and the sharing of scholarly research through the ARCE DC Francis W. Niedenfuhr Annual Meeting Award.



Applicants must meet all three of these criteria:

—Must be currently enrolled as a Masters or Ph.D. student

—Must be an ARCE member in good standing (current on dues at the time of application)

—Must have a paper or poster accepted for the annual ARCE conference

This grant is awarded to one student each year, based on financial need and merit. Priority will be given to members of the ARCE DC chapter, students who have not received the award in previous years, and students who are not receiving other funds to help them attend the conference.

To apply, please fill out this application form and email it with supporting materials to by Friday, March 6, 2020.

The selection committee will be unable to consider applications received after that date.


The winner of this year's Niedenfuhr Award is Emily Grace Smith-Sangster for her paper entitled  "Crutched Pharaoh, Seated Hunter: An Analysis of Artistic 'Portrayals' of Tutankhamun's Disabilities."

Although this year's annual ARCE meeting has been cancelled due to concerns about the coronavirus, ARCE DC went ahead with this award in the hope that the chosen candidate would be able to use the grant to attend the 2021 meeting.