Apostolos Georgiadis

Contact Info

Email: apostolos.georgiadis@ieee.org
ORCID id: 0000-0003-0054-8167
ResearcherID: M-5915-2015
Scopus author ID: 16318826000

For a list of citations google scholar citation

Apostolos Twitter Feed


  1. Wireless Power Transfer Journal 

  2. Sotiris Nikoletseas, Yuanyuan Yang, Apostolos Georgiadis, Editors Wireless Power Transfer Algorithms, Technologies and Applications in Ad Hoc Communication Networks, published by Springer 2016. ISBN-13: 978-3-319-46809-9 (New)

  3. Apostolos Georgiadis, Hendrik Rogier, Luca Roselli, Paolo Arcioni Editors Microwave and Millimeter Wave Circuits and Systems: Emerging Design, Technologies and Applications, published by John Wiley & Sons. 2012.

  4. Ronald J. Pogorzelski and Apostolos Georgiadis, Coupled-Oscillator Based Active-Array Antennas, Deep Space Communications and Navigation Series (DESCANSO), vol. 11, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, 2012, published by John Wiley & Sons.


Apostolos Georgiadis (S'94–M'03-SM'08) was born in Thessaloniki, Greece. He received the B.S. degree in physics and the M.S. degree in telecommunications from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece, in 1993 and 1996, respectively. He received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, in 2002.

In 1995, he spent a semester with Radio Antenna Communications (R.A.C.), Milan Italy, working on Yagi antennas for U.H.F. applications. In 2000, he spent three months with Telaxis Communications, South Deerfield MA USA, assisting in the design and testing of a pillbox antenna for LMDS applications. In 2002 he joined Global Communications Devices (GCD), North Andover MA USA, as a Systems Engineer and worked on CMOS transceivers for wireless network applications. In June 2003, he joined Bermai, Inc., Minnetonka MN USA, as an RF/Analog Systems Architect. In 2005 he joined the University of Cantabria, Spain, as a Juan de la Cierva Fellow researcher. In 2006 he was a consultant for Bitwave Semiconductor, Lowell MA, US. In addition he collaborated with ACORDE S.A., Santander, Spain, in designing integrated CMOS VCOs for ultra wideband (UWB) applications. In March 2007 he joined CTTC as a senior research associate in the area of Communications Subsystems. In 2013-2016 he was group leader of the Microwave Systems and Nanotechnology Department of CTTC. In July 2016 he joined Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh as an Associate Professor.

In 1996, Dr. Georgiadis received a Fulbright Scholarship for graduate studies at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He received the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, in 1997 and 1998. He also was the recipient of the Eugene M. Isenberg Award from the Isenberg School of Management, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, in 1999 and 2000. He was the General Chair of 2011 IEEE RFID-TA Conference and general co-Chair of the 2011 IEEE MTT-S IMWS on Millimeter Wave Integration Technologies. He was the Chairman of COST Action IC0803 RF/Microwave communication subsystems for emerging wireless technologies (RFCSET). He is Vice-Chair of COST Action IC1301 Wireless Power Transmission for Sustainable Electronics (WiPE). He was the Coordinator of Marie Curie Industry-Academia Pathways and Partnerships (IAPP) project Symbiotic Wireless Autonomous Powered system (SWAP). He is Member of the IEEE MTT-S TC-24 RFID Technologies (past Chair) and Member of IEEE MTT-S TC-26 Wireless Energy Transfer and Conversion. He serves as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Journal on RFID. He has been Associate Editor of the IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letters, the IET Microwaves Antennas and Propagation and the IEEE RFID Virtual Journal. He co-founded and was Editor-in-Chief of the Cambridge Wireless Power Transfer Journal. He has been a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE CRFID. He is Chair of URSI Commission D: Electronics and Photonics and URSI Fellow.

His research interests include energy harvesting and wireless power transmission, RFID technology, active antennas and phased array antennas, inkjet and 3D printed electronics, millimeter wave systems. He has published more than 200 papers in peer reviewed journals and international conferences.

  • 2019 IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowship awarded to my Ph.D. student S. Daskalakis (advisor)
  • 2018 URSI Fellow
  • 2018 IEEE MTT-S IMS, Philadelphia, June 10-15, 2018, (advisor) Student Paper Competition Finalist
  • 2018 Guest Editor, IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics
  • 2017 IEEE Sensors, Glasgow, Oct 30 - Nov. 1, 2017, (advisor), "Best paper distinction" and invitation for publication to the IEEE Sensors Journal
  • 2017 Chair, URSI Commission D Electronics and Photonics
  • 2016 Guest Editor, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques
  • 2016 EU Marie Curie Global Fellowship, visiting Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 2016 IEEE Council on RFID, ADCOM Member, VP of Conferences
  • 2015 Premium Award for Best Paper in IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation
  • 2015 IEEE MTT-S IMS, Phoenix, May 17-22, 2015, (advisor) Student Paper Competition Finalist
  • 2015 IEEE MTT-S Radio Wireless Symposium (RWS), San Diego, Jan. 25-28, 2015, (advisor) 2nd Place, Student Paper Competition
  • 2014 URSI Commission D, Vice Chair
  • 2014 Distinguished Lecturer IEEE CRFID
  • 2014 IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowship awarded to my Ph.D. student K. Niotaki (advisor)
  • 2014 IEEE RFID-TA Conference Best Paper Award
  • 2014 Guest Editor, Proceedings of the IEEE
  • 2013 IEEE ECTC Electronics Components and RF Committee Member
  • 2013 IEEE MTT-S Representative at IEEE Technical Committee on RFID (CRFID)
  • 2013 IEEE Sensors Chapter Spain, Founder
  • 2012 IEEE Topical Meeting on Wireless Sensors and Wireless Sensors Networks (WiSNet), Radio Wireless Week, Santa Clara Jan. 15-18, 2012, (advisor) Student Contest Finalist
  • 2011 IEEE RFID-TA Conference, Sitges Sep. 15-16, 2011, 3rd Best Paper Award
  • 2010 Acreditation Profesor Agregado AQU Catalunya (equiv. to Tenured Assistant Professor)
  • 2010 5th COST IC0803 Workshop, Nov. 8-9,2010 EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland (advisor) Best Student Paper Award
  • 2010 Applied Computational Electromagnetics (ACES) Symposium (advisor) 2nd Best Student Paper Award
  • 2010 European Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP) Symposium (advisor) Best Student Paper Award
  • 2007 Torres Quevedo Grant, Ministry of Science and Innovation, Spain
  • 2004 Juan de la Cierva Grant, Ministry of Science and Innovation, Spain
  • 2000 Eugene M. Isenberg Award, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • 1999 Eugene M. Isenberg Award, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • 1998 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • 1997 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • 1996 Fulbright-Hayes Fellowship, Fulbright Foundation, Greece