Manos Antonakakis, PhD
College of Engineering Dean's Professorship Chair and Associate Professor
Room 3364, Klaus Advanced Computing Building
Georgia Institute of Technology
266 Ferst Drive, Atlanta, GA 30332-0765
manos $AT gaTeCh %DOT eDu

Twitter: @mAntonakakis


    My main research interests revolve around computer & network security, anomaly detection, data mining and attack attribution. Most of my research projects take place in the Center for Cyber Operations Enquiry and Unconventional Sensing (COEUS), which I co-Direct with Angelos KeromytisProud founder of Notos Technologies.  

    [NSF SFS Program] The federal CyberCorps® Scholarship for Service (SFS) program provides tuition and a stipend to students in exchange for commitments to serve the U.S. Government in a cybersecurity role after graduation. For more information, please visit the Georgia Tech's program website GT-SFS website.


    Spring 2020: ECE 6612/CS 6262 Network Security
    Spring 2019: ECE 6612/CS 6262 Network Security
    Spring 2017: ECE 6612/CS 6262 Network Security  
    Fall 2015: ECE 8813/CS 8803 Advanced Computer Security

    Research Team 


      1. [CS-PhD] Panagiotis Kintis
      2. [CS-PhD] Athanasios Kountouras
      3. [ECE-PhD] Omar Alrawi
      4. [CS-PhD] Thomas Papastergiou
      5. [ECE-PhD] Kleanthis Karakolios
      6. [CS-PhD] Konstantions Karakatsanis (Co-advised with Angelos Keromytis)
      7. [CS-PhD] Thanos Avgetidis (Co-advised with Angelos Keromytis)
      8. [ECE-PhD] Aaron Faulkenberry
      9. [ECE-PhD] Antonia Feffer (Co-advised with Angelos Keromytis)
      10. [ECE-PhD] Kevin Valakuzhy (Co-advised with Angelos Keromytis)

    MScs/Research Scientists/Visiting Faculty/Research Faculty/PostDocs and Research Engineers  

      1. [VF] Dr. Roberto Perdisci
      2. [RF] Dr. Chaz Lever
      3. [RS] Dave Dagon
      4. [RS] Jeremy Demar
      5. [RE] Logan O'Hara
      6. [PostDoc] Dr. Gong Chen


      1. [CS SFS] Jered Tupek
      2. [ECE] Nikhil Damani
      3. [CS] Dennis Li
      4. [CS] Tillson Galloway
      5. [ECE] Nicholas Joaquin
      6. [ECE] Tillson Galloway


      1. [CS-PhD] Dr. Yacin Nadji (Graduated 2015) 
      2. [CS-PhD] Dr. Chaz Lever (Graduated 2017)
      3. [CS-PhD] Dr. Yizheng Chen (Graduated 2017)
      4. [ECE-PostDoc] Dr. Nikolaos Pitropakis 
      5. [CS-MSc] Akshay Gupta (Graduated 2015)
      6. [ECE-MSc] Siddhesh Yawalkar (Graduated 2016)
      7. [ECE-Undergraduate] Kim Yie (Graduated 2015)
      8. [ECE-Undergraduate] Logan O'Hara (Graduated 2017)
      9. [CS-MSc] Chris Donlan (Graduated 2017)
      10. [CS-Undergraduate] Alison Sommers (Graduated 2018)
      11. [ECE-PostDoc] Dr. Rosa Romero Gomez 
      12. [ECE SFS] Morgan Mango
      13. [RE] Chris Donlan
      14. [CS] Parth Thakkar

    Professional Service

    • Funding Review Panels
      • NSF Secure and Trustworthy Cyberspace (SaTC) [2016-2017]
    • Conference Chaired
      • (General Chair) International Symposium on Research in Attacks, Intrusions and Defenses (RAID) [2017]
      • (PC co-chair) IEEE eCrime Researchers Summit [2014]
    • Program Committees 
      • IEEE Security and Privacy (Oakland) [2017-2020]
      • Usenix Security [2017, 2021]
      • ACM Computer and Communications Security (CCS) [2015, 2016, 2020]
      • Network and Distributed System Security (NDSS) Symposium [2016, 2017]
      • World Wide Web (WWW) Conference [2016]
      • International Symposium on Research in Attacks, Intrusions and Defenses (RAID) [2014-2016]
      • European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS) [2016-2017]
      • Annual Computer Security Applications Conference (ACSAC) [2016-2019]
      • International Conference on Detection of Intrusions and Malware & Vulnerability Assessment (DIMVA) [2016, 2019]
      • European Workshop on Systems Security (EuroSec)  [2015-2020]
      • IEEE eCrime Researchers Summit [2012, 2016-2018]