anirban dasgupta

I am currently an Associate Professor at the Computer Science Department of Indian Institute of Technology at GandhinagarBefore this, I worked at Yahoo! Labs Sunnyvale from 2006-2013. I am currently sponsored by the Google Faculty Research Award (February 2015) and the Cisco Research University grant (May 2016).

My cv in pdf, a little dated.

email: firstname dot lastname at gmail, or, anirbandg at iitgn dot ac dot in 

NOTE: Unfortunately, I am not able to reply to individual emails about short term projects. If you are interested, please apply through the IITGN summer internship application websites, as and when they are put up.  

Research Interests

  • Randomized algorithms, especially for large data-sets, large scale linear algebra and optimization
  • Modeling, analytics and mining of large social and information networks
  • Information extraction and aggregation problems in social computing systems, e.g. crowdsourcing
  • Computational Social Science
  • practical applications of crowdsourcing, e.g. in enforcing environmental regulations in India

Recent Papers (more.., updated list at DBLP  and Google Scholar):

Saving Critical Nodes with Firefighters is FPT
Jayesh Choudhari, Anirban Dasgupta, Neeldhara Misra and Ramanujan M. S.. ICALP 2017

Caching with dual costs
Anirban Dasgupta, Ravi Kumar and Tamas Sarlos. WWW 2017.
Anirban Dasgupta, Kevin Lang, Lee Rhodes and Justin Thaler, to appear in International Conference of Database Technologies (ICDT) 2016. Best newcomer award.

Flavio Chierichetti, Anirban Dasgupta, Ravi Kumar, Silvio Lattanzi and Tamas Sarlos., to appear in Conference of the World Wide Wed (WWW) 2016. 

Approximate Modularity
Flavio Chierichetti, Abhimanyu Das, Anirban Dasgupta, Ravi Kumar
in Proceedings of FOCS 2015

On Learning Mixture Models for Permutations
Flavio Chierichetti, Anirban Dasgupta, Ravi Kumar, Silvio Lattanzi
in Proceedings of ITCS 2015

Recent academic activities

Recent Program committees: KDD, ICDM, WWW, WSDM, ASONAM...