About Us


The Midwest Chapter is the largest constituent division of the American Musicological Society, covering Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin, as well as areas in Canada north of our constituent states from Winnipeg to Windsor. The Chapter hosts two meetings annually, programming twenty-four to thirty papers given by students, professors, and other interested scholars. More information about all of the AMS chapters can be found on the chapter pages of the Society's website.

Chapter Officers

Officers of the Chapter are elected by the membership and serve two-year terms. Nominations are solicited by the nominating committee prior to each election. The Chapter also recognizes the generous contributions of past officers. If you are wondering whom to contact about a particular issue, please review the chapter job descriptions linked below.

Current Officers and Appointees

(Click on officer title to see job description.)

Stefano Mengozzi
University of Michigan
Nicholas Johnson
Butler University
John MacInnis
Dordt College
AMS Council Representative
Jessica Payette
Oakland University
Student Representatives to the Council
Lesley Hughes (2017-2018)
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Paul Abdullah (2018-2019)
Case Western Reserve University
Newsletter Editor
Program Committee
Melinda Boyd (chair)
University of Northern Iowa

David Kjar
Roosevelt University

Murray Steib
Ball State University

Jessica Narum
Baldwin Wallace University
Local Arrangements
Thomas Kernan
Roosevelt University

David Kjar
Roosevelt University
Nominating Committee
Allison A. Alcorn
Illinois State University

Matthew Balensuela
Depauw University

Lisa Feurzeig
Grand Valley State University
Web Manager
Joe Matson
Illinois State University

Previous Officers and Appointees

The AMS Midwest Chapter applauds the generous volunteer service of our past officers. Thank you for your efforts on behalf of the chapter.