Holy Family Parish


(Another church for the French-Canadians in the North Adams region...) 

Links:

Home Page

Customs

Notre Dame Church

Notre Dame School

Settlement

Bibliography

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Immigration Homepage

Site Map

Contact Information 

In the 1860s, the population of French-Canadians was continually increasing.

"The textile mills were the principal attraction here and formed a partnership with the French-Canadian people that lasted for generations. Through the generousity of the mills and the hard labor of the people, French-speaking communities began to thrive. The mills responded to the many needs of the people, not the  least of which were their spiritual needs. Holy Family parish was a testament to that joint effort" (Senay 6).

Although the Notre Dame du Sacre Couer was already built for the French-Canadians to practice their religion, many French Catholics still weren't able to attend mass weekly. They had trouble trying to get to the church, for it was too long and hard, especially for those who lived in the areas of Greylock and Williamstown.

In response to this problem, W.B. Plunkett, who is the primary owner of the Greylock Mills, donated land. On April 12, 1893, Plunkett voluntarily gave up land to build a new church. In addition to this, he would pay for 5% of the total cost of construction. This plan was followed through and was a success.

As a result, "Reverend Jean Edmond Marcoux was assigned to St. Raphael Church in Williamstown and to Greylock missions of North Adams; the first Mass was celebrated August 1894" (Senay 6). 

W. B. Plunkett, owner of Greylock Mills, who donated land for the use of a French-Canadian  church. (1870)

[ Picture is courtesy of Adams Free Library ]