2019 is a year for celebrations:

125 years since women in South Australia won the right to vote for the first time anywhere in Australia and to stand as members of Parliament.

Susan Grace Benny Centenary

In local government, we are planning to celebrate 100 years on 22 December 1919 that a South Australian woman, Susan Grace Benny, became the first female member of a local government council in both South Australia and in Australia. Grace represented the newly created ward of Seacliff, part of South Australia’s Brighton Council (now Holdfast Bay). This was an extraordinary achievement for its time.

Cr Wendy Holman OAM

Congratulations Councillor Wendy Holman, District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula, who was awarded an OAM Medal in the General Division of this year’s Australia Day Awards.

Councillor Holman was recognized for her service to the community of Cummins where she began as a teacher and then worked on many ventures to make her community prosperous including a founding member of the Cummins and District Enterprise Committee and a director of Cummins Community Bank Board.

Cr Holman had also been honoured with Lower Eyre Peninsula and South Australian Citizen of the Year in 2001 and a Zonta Woman of Achievement Award in 2015.

Photo courtesy Port Lincoln Times.