ALGWA SA Branch was formed in 1964 when there were only nine women elected to councils throughout South Australia.

The Branch lapsed and was re-formed as an incorporated association in October 2005 with a Commonwealth Government’s Women’s Leadership and Development grant through national ALGWA.

ALGWA National Association: The Australian Local Government Women's Association was created in Canberra on October 15, 1951, by 16 local government women drawn from all States of Australia then attending the Jubilee Women's Convention in the Jubilee Year of the Commonwealth of Australia (19/01/1951). The Association has all Australian states and the Northern Territory as member Branches. Branches are federated through a common National Constitution with a National Board, which holds a Biennial Annual General meeting and conference.

First Branch: 1964

Founding members included Ellinor Gertrude Walker O.B.E as first President. Ellinor Walker was awarded an O.B.E. in 1971 and died in 1990 aged 97.


Ellinor Walker, seen here in a 1930 photograph held in the Mortlock Library of South Australiana pictorial collection (B7327).

Elizabeth Furner began taking an interest in both writing and local government, stimulated by her disgust about the discriminatory franchise laws. Elixabeth joined the Australian Local Government Women's Association, rising quickly to President of the South Australian Branch, and did much public speaking as well as standing for council in North Brighton. http://www.womenaustralia.info/biogs/AWE0690b.htm

Elizabeth Furner

Elizabeth Furner

Cr Iris MacDonald (former Henley & Grange Council) was one of the first Board members of ALGWA SA and State President 1970-1974 and National President 1972- 1974.

Last known records show that in 1996, Cr Debbie Wood was President, Julie Greig MP was Secretary and Ald. Yvonne Caddy was Treasurer.

Re-formed & Current Branch: 2005 - present

In October 2005, the following people were elected to formerly start a branch in South Australia:

The inaugural President was Kristina Barnett (Prospect Councillor 1987-2006/ 2009- current; Mayor 2000-2006; Local Government Association SA State Executive Committee 2003-2006). Kristina was awarded the Prime Minister’s Centenary Medal in 2001 for services to local government and the community.

The interim committee was

President: Mayor Kristina Barnett, Prospect Council

Vice President (Metro): Cr Fiona Barr, Port AdelaideEnfield Council & national delegate

Vice President (Metro): Cr Irene Whennan, Marion Council

Vice President (Rural): Mayor Joy Baluch, Port Augusta Council

Vice President (Rural): Cr Mary Beckett, Alexandrina Council

Secretary: Julie Kerr,Local Government Managers Association SA Division

Treasurer : Jo Manuel, Public Library

Cr Sandra Brown: Onkaparinga Council & national delegate

Cr Betty Gill: Salisbury Council

Cr Miriam Smith:Tea Tree Gully Council

Cr Heather Wright:Walkerville Council

Faye Barrett: Office of Local Government

Renee Harrison: Office of Local Government

Ann Blinman: East Waste Management

Anne Petch: Adelaide Council