School on algorithms in lattice gauge theory and spin systems
to be held at
the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata
January 27 -- February 1, 2020

Organizing Committee
  • Arnab Sen (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata) (Convener)
  • Debasish Banerjee (Humboldt University, Berlin)
  • Kedar Damle (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
  • Arti Garg (Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata)
  • Pushan Majumdar (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata)

 Fermion Bag Methods
 Shailesh Chandrasekharan (Duke University)
 Tensor Network Methods  Ying-Jer Kao (National Taiwan University)
 Typicality and Exact Time Evolution in many-body systems  David J Luitz (MPIPKS, Dresden)
 Stochastic Series Expansion Methods for spin systems  Anders W Sandvik (Boston University) 
 Recent developments in Domain Decomposition Methods  Stefan Schaefer (DESY, Zeuthen)
 Recent progress in algorithms for Quantum Dimer / Link Models  Uwe Jens Wiese (University of Bern)
Each course will consist of three one hour lectures.

In addition to the courses, there will be several topical seminars
 Fermion-bag inspired Hamiltonian lattice field theories  Emilie Huffman (Perimeter Institute)
 Strange correlations in symmetry protected topological phases  Pinaki Sengupta (National Technical University, Singapore)
 Some recent applications of classical-statistical lattice techniques  Sayantan Sharma (Institute of Mathematical Sciences)
 How to play geometric puzzles for efficient Monte-Carlo updates  Hidemaro Suwa (University of Tokyo)
 Efficient cluster algorithm for dipolar spin glasses Tushar Kanti Bose (Srikrishna College, Bagula)

Time Table
   10:00 - 11:00  11:30 - 12:30  14:30 - 15:30  16:00 - 17:00
 Monday 27 Jan  Luitz (1)  Sandvik (1)  Suwa  Luitz (2)
 Tuesday 28 Jan  Luitz (3)  Wiese (1)  Sandvik (2)  Sengupta
 Wednesday 29th Jan  Chandrasekharan (1)  Wiese (2)  Sandvik (3)  Bose
 Thursday 30th Jan  Chandrasekharan (2)  Wiese (3)  Schaefer (1)  Huffman
 Friday 31st Jan  Chandrasekharan (3)  Schaefer (2)  Kao (1)  Sharma
 Saturday 1st Feb  Kao (2)  Schaefer (3)  Kao (3)  

Application Process
The deadline for applications is 9th November 2019. 
Participation requests and all school related queries should be sent to
Since we have limited accommodation, preference will be given to applicants who are working in the broad area of numerical methods in correlated systems.

To reach IACS from MSA II GH please cross the EM bye pass and go to the bus stop "Ruby/Desun".
Take any south bound bus to Jadavpur Police Station (thana) (AC43, ST6, 47B) or Jadavpur 8B (S9, AC9) bus terminus. The IACS campus is a short walk (5 mins North from 8B bus terminus or 10 mins South from  Jadavpur Police Station (Jadavpur thana) ). Autorickshaws are also available from 
Ruby/Desun to Jadavpur Police Station (Jadavpur thana). Please note that in Kolkata autorickshaws ply on fixed routes and take 4 passengers only. Ruby/Desun to Jadavpur Police Station (Jadavpur thana) is a route.

Location of IACS

Please note that the lectures will be held in the C V Raman lecture Hall (2nd floor of the Main Building, IACS).

Funded by the Max Planck Society Partner Group of MPIPKS, Dresden and IACS, Kolkata