Welcome, my name is Alex,

I am an Evolutionary Biologist working at the Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research in Berlin (IZW). The goal of my research is to understand the evolution of behaviour and life history traits in humans and other organisms. I am mainly interested in sexual selection and mate choice as a whole (i.e. from mating preferences to mating patterns) and in evolutionary changes in modern humans. In particular, I am developing and applying methods to quantitatively study inter-individual differences. My research also emphasises the importance of considering such variation to understand how behaviours and life history traits have evolved.

Within the IZW, I am leading a small team called 'modeling life history evolution' or 'Data Zoo Gang' depending on whom you ask. My current team mates are Colin Vullioud and Liam Bailey. I am also working as a statistician and R geek. So I provide advices and teaching (for beginners to "experts") on diverse statistical approaches and on programing with R. I am finally developing and contributing to the development of R packages to produce open source tools helping my colleagues to do their research.

, I was born in France and currently live in Germany. I am 36 yrs old, a father of 2 boys, and according to the Big Five my personality scores as follows: Openness 59%, Conscientiousness 89%, Extraversion 79%, Agreeableness 50% & Neuroticism 37% (note that values are percentiles and therefore depend on other individuals who had performed the test; e.g. it means that 59% of these individuals scored less in Openness than myself).

Feel free to contact me for collaborations, research training opportunities, or questions on my research!

PS: you can follow me on twitter: @alexcourtiol, @rdataberlin