2019 Department Convention

Photos from the Department of Iowa Convention
held 19-21 July 2019 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Minutes of the 2nd District Caucus held during the
Department Convention can be viewed by clicking here.

Approximately 23 Posts from around Iowa displayed their history and accomplishments
during the Centennial Celebration event at the 2019 Department Convention.  Second
District Posts from Bellevue, Dubuque, Marion and Olin were among those who participated.
Above, displaying her Post's legacy is Janet Grass of Dubuque Post 6.

Gordon Thomsen (lefft) and Ralph Andresen (right) of Olin Post 412 display their
Post's history during the Centennial Celebration event during the Department

2018-2019 2nd District Commander Dick Hogan (center) receives a certificate from Department
Commander Scott Moline (right) and Department Membership Chairman Don Swan (left)
for ending the 2019 membership recruiting year as the top District in the Department.

The first place entry in the 5th Grade Flag Essay Contest was submitted by
Sherry Tang, sponsored by LeClaire Post 347.

The 2019 Eagle Scout of the Year was Ethan Hoefler, Boy Scout Troop 60,
Sponsored by Dyersville Post 137.

The 2018 American Legion Baseball Player of the Year is Gannon O'Brien,
from the Dubuque County American Legion Baseball Team.

Members of the 2nd District caucus on Saturday afternoon during the convention.
Among other things discussed was which of the two (2) candidates for 2019-2020
Department Commander to vote for.  The last time there was an actual election
(two or more candidates running) was in 2002.

Department officers are presented to the members after being sworn in on Sunday
morning.  2019-2020 2nd District Commander Roger Norfolk is fourth from the left
and 2019-2020 Department Vice Commander Richard Hogan is second from the left.

2019-2020 Department of Iowa Commander James Kessler speaks to the membership
Sunday morning after being sworn in.  Commander James' wife of 50 years Marilyn
stands in the background.