The workshop plenary sessions and optional lunch gathering (on Tuesday) will be broadcast via webinar.

Download a copy of this agenda on the Final Workshop Materials page.

Agenda at a Glance

Tuesday, March 19 Wednesday, March 20
8:30 am  -  Registration 7:45 am  -  Registration
9:00 am  -  Workshop and webinar begin 8:00 am  -  Workshop and webinar begin
5:30 pm  -  Day 1 adjourns 3:30 pm  -  Workshop adjourns
6:00 pm  -  Optional group gathering 4:00 pm  -  STAR Progress Review presentations

Final Agenda 

Tuesday March 19, 2013

8:30 am - Registration 

9:00 am - Welcome and Speaker Introduction 
Peter Preuss | Chief Innovation Officer, EPA Office of Research and Development
Dan Costa | National Program Director; EPA Air, Climate and Energy Research

9:10 am - New Ways of Making “Sense” of What’s in the Air: Why it Matters
Dan Greenbaum | President, Health Effects Institute

9:40 am - Poster Session 
Participants will share their research and work on air sensors, including technology, data, policy, business, and outreach. For more information please visit the poster session page.

11:00 am - Orientation to the Workshop 
Chet Wayland | Director; EPA Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Air Quality Assessment Division

11:15 am - Plenary Session I  New Technologies, Hot Science, and Instruments on the Horizon 
Session Chair: Sherri Hunt | EPA National Center for Environmental Research
John Muth | Center for Advanced Self-Powered Systems of Integrated Sensors and Technologies, North Carolina State University
Marc Delgado | Sensotran
Igor Paprotny | University of California, Berkeley
Olivier Zaouak | Cairpol

12:30 pm - Lunch 
Optional: Bring your lunch and join EPA for an informal discussion of the Draft Roadmap for Next Generation Air Monitoring in Auditorium C111 from 1:00 - 2:00.

2:00 pm - Plenary Session II  Data Quality, Evaluation, and Calibration 
Session Chair: Ron Williams | EPA National Exposure Research Laboratory
Robert Judge | U.S. EPA, Region 1
Praveen Sekhar | Washington State University
Laura Balzano | University of Michigan
Roger Peng | Johns Hopkins University
David Hindin | EPA Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance

3:30 am - Break

3:45 pm - Plenary Session III  Big Data: Management and Analysis 
Session Chair: Vasu Kilaru | EPA National Exposure Research Laboratory
Luis Bermudez | Open Geospatial Consortium
Adina Howe | Argonne National Laboratory
Levente Klein | IBM Smarter Cities Challenge Initiative
Chris Bartley | Carnegie Mellon University
Prabal Dutta | University of Michigan

5:30 pm - Adjourn 

6:00 pm - Optional post-meeting gathering 
You are invited to attend a post-meeting gathering at Tyler’s Tap Room at the American Tobacco Historic District at 6:00 pm. We will facilitate carpooling and cab-sharing at the registration desk on Tuesday. It costs about $25–30 for a taxi from EPA to the tobacco district. If you are interested in attending, just let us know and we will help you get there! 

Other restaurants within walking distance of Tyler’s Tap Room include:
Cuban Revolution 
The District at 410 
L'Uva Enoteca 
Mellow Mushroom 
Tobacco Road Sports Cafe 

Wednesday March 20, 2013

7:45 am - Registration 

8:00 am - The Air Sensors Evaluation Project
Ron Williams | EPA National Exposure Research Laboratory

8:15 am - Breakout Session Instructions
Please find more details about breakouts on the Breakout Sessions page.

8:30 am - Breakout Session 1

9:30 am - Break

9:45 am - Breakout Session 2

10:45 am - Break

11:00 am - Plenary Session IV  Recent Applications of Sensors
Session Chair: Mike Hannigan | University of Colorado
Alena Bartonova | CITI-SENSE, EU
Mike Hannigan | University of Colorado, STAR grantee
William Griswold | CitiSense; University of California, San Diego
Gayle Hagler | EPA National Risk Management Research Laboratory
Tim Dye | Sonoma Technology, Inc.

12:45 pm - Lunch 

1:30 pm  - Tech Demos 
Participants will demonstrate sensor technology during this time. For more information please visit the tech demos page.

2:30 pm - Panel Discussion: Federal Agency Perspectives on Sensor Development and Application 
Session Chair: Linda Sheldon | EPA National Exposure Research Laboratory
Invited Speakers:
David Balshaw | National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Albert Davydov | National Institute of Standards and Technology
Anne Hultgren | Department of Homeland Security
Julie Dickerson | National Science Foundation
Cody Howard | Small Business Innovation Research
David Jackson | U.S. Army Center for Environmental Health Research
Sari Paikoff | Defense Threat Reduction Agency
Dan Costa | EPA Office of Research and Development

3:30 pm - Air Sensors 2013 Workshop Adjourns

You’re invited to stay for the STAR Progress Review presentations in the auditorium from 4:00 – 5:30.
Register to participate in the STAR webinar here.
The following topics will be covered:

Compact-Network Accessible Optical Particle Counter
Timothy Bertram | University of California, San Diego

Assessing Synergistic Impact of Anthropogenic and Biogenic Emissions on Air Pollution Using Novel High-Sensitivity, Real-Time Monitors for Fundamental Carbonyls
Frank Keutsch | University of Wisconsin, Madison

Compact Multi-Pollutant Mid-Infrared Laser Spectroscopic Trace Gas Sensor
Gerard Wysocki | Princeton University

Development of Cost-effective, Compact Electrical Ultrafine Particle (eUFP) Sizers and Wireless EUFP Sensor Network
Daren Chen | Washington University in St. Louis

Abstracts for these presentations are available here.