Welcome to the AETW 2017

Auckland University of Technology (AUT) and the University of Auckland will be co-hosting the 35th Australasian Economic Theory Workshop on 13-14 February, 2017. We cordially invite you to participate in the workshop.

The Australasian Economic Theory Workshop (AETW) is an annual meeting of economic theorists in the Australasian region. The workshop traditionally provides a forum to present, discuss, and exchange ideas in economic theory, and to foster collaborative research projects.

We invite submissions of papers in all areas of Economic Theory, including general equilibrium theory, game theory, macroeconomics, social choice and welfare, uncertainty and information, intertemporal economics, public economics, international economics, development economics, financial economics, money and banking, and industrial organization.

The venue for the 2017 event is Building WG in the city campus of AUT.

To participate, please submit a paper by Friday 25 November 2016 to aetw2017@gmail.com. We especially encourage submissions from young researchers, including graduating PhD students.

The New Zealand Institute for Economic Research (NZIER) has kindly offered to sponsor two travel grants in the amount of NZD 500.00 each to support the participation of presenting PhD students. PhD students should identify themselves upon submission of their papers if they would like to be considered for these awards. The selection of the two recipients by the AETW 2017 Committee will be announced together with acceptance notices. The two prizes will be presented by the NZIER during the conference dinner on February 13th.

Acceptance decisions will be emailed by Friday 23 December 2016.

There will be discussants, and presenters are expected to make themselves available as discussants also (if needed).

We hope to see you in Auckland in 2017.  

The Organising Committee: Matthew Ryan (Chair), Alexandre Dmitriev, Simona Fabrizi, John Hillas and Steffen Lippert.

We gratefully acknowledge support from