*Activities‎ > ‎

Core Texts

There are four categories of Core Texts that we review in our satsangs, and which are recommended reading. These texts encompass the orientation of our tradition, including Yoga, Vedanta, and Tantra.
CORE TEXTS (4 categories; 12 books)
#1) Yoga Sutras (the systematic process of Yoga meditation; sometimes called Raja Yoga or Sankhya Yoga)
#2) Bhagavad Gita (by Swami Rama; this text emphasizes the self-awareness practices of traditional Yoga, sometimes considered to be Jnana Yoga or Vedanta)
#3) Upanishads (all below are by Swami Rama; these all describe contemplative meditation of Yoga, with particular focus on the levels of consciousness and self-awareness mapped out in the Om mantra, as most clearly outlined in the Mandukya Upanishad. Sometimes Upanishads are thought to be Jnana Yoga or Vedanta)
#4) Tantra (emphasizing the subtlest tantra, the totally internal Samaya Tantra of Tripura, the one consciousness dwelling in the three cities of waking, dreaming, and deep sleep; tri=three and pura=city. Tantra is also sometimes referred to as Tantra Yoga.)
    By Swami Jnaneshvara
    Books by Swami Jnaneshvara (print-on-demand through Lulu.com