Supreme Council

The Supreme Council for Australia was inaugurated on 12th October 1985 with 202 Chapters formerly holding allegiance under the Supreme Council for England and Wales or the Supreme Council for Scotland. The numbers of Chapters and Councils were further increased in November 1990 when those associated with the former irregular '64 body in NSW were brought into regularity in this Supreme Council.


The Supreme Council for Australia administers the Rite across eight Regions that span the continent:

  • Region No.1 - New South Wales (South)
  • Region No.2 - Queensland (South)
  • Region No.3 - Victoria, Sunraysia and NSW Riverina
  • Region No.4 - Western Australia
  • Region No.5 - South Australia
  • Region No.6 - New South Wales (North)
  • Region No.7 - Queensland (North) & Carpentaria
  • Region No.8 - Tasmania

Tableau of Supreme Council:

The Supreme Council is led by a Sovereign Grand Commander, who is assisted by his Lieutenant Grand Commander and the Officers of Supreme Council (the 'Tableau'), who comprise the other Regional Commanders and the Grand Secretary General. The current Tableau of the Supreme Council for Australia is:

 Sovereign Grand Commander M∴P∴ Bro. W (Bill) Thompson, 33°
 Lieutenant Grand Commander V∴P∴ Bro. GW (Bill) Morgan, 33°
 Grand Treasurer General H∴E∴ M∴Ill∴ Bro. James R Gist, 33°
 Grand Prior M∴Ill∴ Bro. Gregg W Summerhayes, 33°
 Grand Registrar M∴Ill∴ Bro. Andrew H Charlton, 33°
 Grand Marshal M∴Ill∴ Bro. Garry L Mauger, 33°
 Grand Chancellor M∴Ill∴ Bro. Richard V Pickering, 33°
 Grand Director of Ceremonies M∴Ill∴ Bro. Colin O Mander, 33°
 Grand Captain General M∴Ill∴ Bro. Graeme Cucel, 33°
 Grand Secretary General H∴E∴ M∴Ill∴ Bro. Dominic De Candia, 33°

Click here for a list of the Sovereign Grand Commanders of this Supreme Council.

The Supreme Council maintains a website for the interest and edification of the brethren:

Region 1 (NSW South) also has a website you may like to visit: