Overview of the Rite in Australia

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite ('the Rite') is the largest body of Freemasons in the world working under a common constitution, the 'Grand Constitutions of 1786', which is subscribed to by all recognised Supreme Councils throughout the world. Click here to download a PDF copy (41KB) of an English translation of the 1786 Constitutions.

While the Craft degrees are acknowledged to be the foundation stone of all Freemasonry, the instruction given in the Craft degrees is, however, seldom fully grasped by the candidate. He needs further instruction and enlightenment to understand the great truths which Freemasonry possesses and teaches. The Craft degrees are but the wonderful entrance to the great Temple of Freemasonry. He who would seek more light, more knowledge of the mission and symbolism of Freemasonry, a more complete interpretation of the teachings of the Craft degrees, as well as acceptance into a very special fellowship and Brotherhood, can obtain these within this Rite.

The Rite is, thus, broadly appealing to Master Masons of good character who are interested in developing their Masonic knowledge and their circle of Masonic friendships. If this is you, then you can be sure of a hearty welcome within a Chapter of the Rite.


The Supreme Council for Australia, which is the sovereign authority for the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite in Australia, is led by a Sovereign Grand Commander, who is supported by the Officers of Supreme Council (the 'Tableau'), comprising the Regional Commanders and the Grand Secretary General. The Chapters and Councils, which are the regular working bodies of the Rite, are aggregated into Districts led by a District Commander, and these into Regions led by a Regional Commander.


The 33 degrees of the Rite administered under the Supreme Council for Australia are:

18° Chapter Degrees

1° Entered Apprentice (not worked within this Supreme Council)
2° Fellow Craft (not worked within this Supreme Council)
3° Master Mason (not worked within this Supreme Council)
4° Secret Master
5° Perfect Master
6° Intimate Secretary
7° Provost and Judge
8° Superintendent of the Building
9° Elect of Nine
10° Elect of Fifteen
11° Sublime Elect
12° Grand Master Architect
13° Royal Arch of Enoch
14° Grand Elect, Perfect and Sublime Master
15° Knight of the Sword
16° Prince of Jerusalem
17° Knight of the East and West
18° Knight of the Pelican and Eagle, Sovereign Prince Rose Croix of H.R.D.M.

30° Council Degrees

19° Grand Pontiff
20° Venerable Grand Master
21° Patriarch Noachite
22° Prince of Libanus
23° Chief of the Tabernacle
24° Prince of the Tabernacle
25° Knight of the Brazen Serpent
26° Prince of Mercy
27° Commander of the Temple
28° Knight of the Sun
29° Knight of St Andrew
30° Grand Elect Knight Kadosh, Knight of the Black and White Eagle

Higher Degrees

31° Grand Inspector Inquisitor Commander
32° Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret
33° Sovereign Grand Inspector General