Home

Professional Background

My research interests are in the area of theoretical linguistics, specifically phonology and morphosyntax. In addition, I am interested in endangered languages, indigenous languages of the Americas, linguistic anthropology, and Mesoamerican anthropology.

I began my education at Hilltop High School in Chula Vista, CA. After high school, I studied at UCLA, where I earned a B.A., with a double major in Linguistics and Anthropology. After my B.A. I took classes in Design at UCLA Extension. I am currently working on my M.A. in Linguistics and intend to graduate this spring. My thesis is an acoustic phonetic and phonological analysis of Nahuatl from Chicontepec in the state of Veracruz, Mexico. I will continue on to a Ph.D. program in the fall of 2013.

Education

Hilltop Senior High School

University of California, Los Angeles
B.A. in Linguistics and in Anthropology, 2004

University of California, Los Angeles Extension
Courses in Design & Communication Arts, 2004-2009

California State University, Northridge
In progress: M.A. Linguistics, 2011-2013 (intended completion)

18111 Nordhoff St, California State University, Northridge, Northridge, CA 91330

Teaching

I have always been interested in academia. I enjoy conducting research as well as presenting my original material. My goal is to work at an institution where I will be able to do both. In my dream job, I would be able to conduct research and teach courses in theoretical linguistics, sociolinguistics and Mesoamerican anthropology. I am currently a student at CSUN. See a campus map to the right.


Interests and Hobbies

My interests include fine art, design and visual communication, and as such, I often drag my family to museums. I also enjoy Mexican Folkloric dance and music (Folklorico) which I have done since middle school. I regularly volunteer at Nuestras RaĆ­ces, a non-profit organization serving Gardena and surrounding communities where I occasionally teach dance to high school students and volunteer in their annual show production.

I enjoy travel, especially to Mexico where I enjoy exploring the regional history, culture, music and cuisine. I also enjoy spending time in the southwest (Arizona-New Mexico). As a native San Diegan, the beach plays a role in my summer outdoor activities where I occasionally enjoy boogie boarding. I enjoy swimming and light hikes as well.As a linguist I am also interested in speaking languages (as opposed to only analyzing languages). I speak both English and Spanish, and have studied to varying degrees Italian, Portuguese, Quechua, and Nahuatl.

Contact Information

andresehecatl@gmail.com
www.andresaguilar.com

Comments