As of July 2012 the West Indies Mission covers 9 countries (Barbados; France's Overseas Departments of French Guiana, Guadeloupe, and Martinique; Grenada; Guyana; Saint Martin; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent; Sint Maarten; and Suriname),  six  currencies (TTs - Trinidadian, SRDs - Surinamese, GYDs - Guyanese, EUR - EURO, YCD - East Caribbean, BBD - Barbadian, and ANG - Netherland Antilles Guilder), and three languages (English, French and Dutch). 
We have about (the total varies) 114 young missionaries and 32 senior missionaries serving in the mission.  As of August , 2012 they came from the United States, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Madagasar, France, United Kingdom, Antigua and Barbuda, Mauritius, Netherlands, Netherland Antilles, Nigeria, Belgium, Samoa, and French Polynesia.


The mission covers one stake (Port of Spain, Trinidad), along with 4 districts  (Christ Church Barbados, Georgetown Guyana, Paramaribo Suriname, and Basse-Terre Guadeloupe) and 16 branches that report directly to the mission president. 


 Click on the tabs  above to go to information about our different islands and South American countries.


In 1990 Elder M. Russell Ballard dedicated the countries in the West Indies for missionary work.  In July 1991 the Trinidad and Tobago Mission was created including the countries of Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Suriname, Grenada and St. Vincent.


The original West Indies Mission Included the countries of Antigua, St. Kitts, St. Thomas, St. Croix, St. Maarten, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Barbados and French Guiana.  The mission office was established in Barbados.


On 1 July 1994 the two missions were combined to creat the most recent West Indies Mission and the mission office was moved to Trinidad.


In July 2007 the West Indies Mission was divided.  The countries of St. Kitts and Nevis, Antiqua, and Dominica became part of the Puerto Rico East Mission. 


Prior mission presidents are:

J. Richard Toolson                      1991 - 1994 Trinidad and Tobago Mission

Eldon and Picola L. Wood           1991 - 1994 West Indies Mission

Roy R. and Jane D. Valantine      1994 - 1997  

Kenneth and Elnora Mason          1997 - 2000 

M. Don and DeAnn Van Noy         2000 - 2003

Hendrik and Jedith Dorenbosch     2003 - 2006

Reid A. and Diane Robison            2006 - 2009

Claude R. and Delphine Gamiette  2009 - 2012

Daniel S. and Rebeca Mehr            Presently serving   


Any suggestions for this website:


  President and Sister Mehr arrived in the West Indies mission on June 30, 2012.  

  President Mehr is a former public affairs missionary in the Caribbean Area, stake Young Men president, high councilor, bishop, counselor in a bishopric and missionary in the Argentina North Mission. He is a retired businessman.

Sister Mehr is a former public affairs missionary, member of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, Young Women president, Primary and Relief Society teacher and missionary in the France Bordeaux Mission.