home‎ > ‎

General Session: Business Meeting

SCASL Business Meeting

Ballroom A

Friday March 26th, 9:15 am – 10:15 am

Business Meeting Agenda:

Welcome –Joe Myers, SCASL President Elect

Call to Order – Amanda LeBlanc, SCASL President

Minutes of the 2009 Annual Membership Meeting – Lena Lee, SCASL Secretary

Treasurer’s Report – Randa Edmunds, SCASL Treasurer

Election of Officers – Valerie Byrd-Fort, Elections Committee Chairperson

Introduction of Keynote Speaker – Joe Myers, SCASL President Elect

Keynote Address – Ann Martin, Past President of AASL

Announcements and close of meeting – Amanda LeBlanc, SCASL President

Ann Martin is the immediate past president of the American Association of School Librarians. She is the Educational Specialist, Library Information Services for Henrico County Schools in Virginia. During her service with ALA and AASL, Ann assisted ALA staff with NCLB verbiage seeking inclusion of school library media specialist into NCLB. She served to create an AASL Five Point Plan to Increase Election Participation, attended the United States Department of Education High School Leadership Summit, October 8, 2003, and served on the AASL Equity of Access Committee

2010-2011 SCASL Slate of Officers


Martha Alewine

President Elect

Martha Alewine has worked as an elementary and middle school Teacher-Librarian in Aiken County, a high school Teacher-Librarian in Lexington / Richland District 5, and as Director of Information Services at Ridge View High School, Richland District 2. In 1998 she became the State Consultant for School Library Media Services with the South Carolina Department of Education. She is married and has three daughters and three grandchildren. Her hobbies include reading, music, designing and working counted cross-stitch, sewing, and visiting the beach at every opportunity. Alewine states, “I have had many varied experiences and opportunities during my career but having the chance to serve our state professional association as President would be the ultimate experience of being recognized by my peers and colleagues as someone worthy to lead our state association and be a voice for all school librarians in South Carolina. Ultimately being honored to serve and work as SCASL President would validate everything I have worked for during my career as a teacher-librarian.”Alewine has served on the SCASL Executive Board for a number of years as the liaison for the South Carolina Department of Education.


Lori June



Lori June has been a Library Media Specialist since 1989 and is currently the Library Media Specialist at Alice Drive Elementary School in Sumter. She has been married for nineteen years, and has two sons, ages five and nine. She has many hobbies, including reading, swimming, yoga, photography, and playing with Web 2.0 tools.

Lori enjoys new experiences and is driven to challenge herself in areas that may be a little outside of her comfort zone. She says, “as a result, I’ve acquired many new skills that serve me well in my personal life as well as my professional life.  I’ve also developed a new appreciation for those media specialists who are leaders in our profession, and have become much more willing to take on some of that responsibility myself.”









Randa Edmunds


Randa Edmunds has been a Library Media Specialist for over 20 years, serving at both the elementary and middle school level. She is currently the Library Media Specialist at Chestnut Oaks Middle School in Sumter.  She has been married for 37 years and has two married daughters and two new grandsons. Her hobbies include gardening and spending time with her family. She loves the profession and loves being a contributing member of SCASL. She states that, “SCASL has grown into a very professional organization of which I am proud to be a member.” She would like to serve as Treasurer for a second term, because she wants to have the opportunity to continue to make productive contributions to SCASL. Randa was part of the first SCASL Leadership Institute and has been a part of the SCASL Executive Board since 2007.



The 2009-10 Elections Committee is pleased to present the

2010-11 slate of officers.


Committee Members:

Valerie Byrd Fort (Chair), Frankie O’Neal, Carole McGrath, Jessica Felker, and Janet Boltjes