Welcome to Relay!

WeLCOME Prospective Students

We could not be more excited that you may be joining Relay Graduate School of Education this year! As an incoming prospective student you will be embarking on a journey of personal and professional development in order to make a difference in your classroom and your community. We are committed to creating a diverse and dedicated community of educators across the country, offering master's degree and certification programs directed at making a deep impact in our PK-12 schools, and look forward to welcoming you into that community.

Enrolling in one of Relay's programs will involve embracing multiple roles as graduate student, PK-12 teacher, AmeriCorps member (if applicable), and active member of your community. Juggling all of these roles takes determination, skill, and preparation. To help set you up for success, Relay students, alumni, faculty, and staff have developed a variety of resources & tips. We recommend you use this website as you prepare for Relay's programs and the teaching profession. If at any point, you cannot find the answer you are looking for, we recommend you visit the Relay Support Center to search for articles pertaining to your topic of interest. We look forward to advising and supporting you along the way!

"All ABout RELAY"

"All About Relay" Video Series

We need a "relay" of great educators to make a difference in the lives of our students. As you consider and before you apply to a program at Relay Graduate School of education, take time to watch this series of five short videos telling you all about Relay and how you can join a diverse community of educators who foster a nurturing, high-quality, and culturally-responsive education for PK-12 students across the country.

Start with this introductory video and work your way through the subsequent ones below.

Why Teach, Why Relay

Programs & Locations

It Takes a Relay

How to Apply & Support

Website Content

Applying to Relay - Information on Relay's Admissions Requirements

Relay Locations - Campus eligibility, admissions requirements, programs, partnership and certification information

Working with Relay's Partners - Resources to prepare you to secure a job placement

Preparing for Relay - Resources to prepare you for Relay, including programs, transition, tuition and finances, and certification

Professional Development - Curated resources to help you get ready

Connecting with Students & Alumni - Get to know current students and alumni and receive a wealth of advice

Inspiration - Links to stories and resources to match your passion and excitement for teaching

Contact Us - Contact information for the Prospective Student Advising team

Staff Profiles

Alexa Laboy

Coordinator of Prospective Student Advising

Alexa will be the initial point of contact for students, assisting with basic application or admissions questions and then connect students to their advisors. She is the low touch advisor for students in New York (New York City and Upstate) and Tennessee (Memphis and Nashville).

Alma Maters: Gettysburg College & Baruch College

Years at Relay: 1.5

Charis Gullage

Coordinator of Prospective Student Advising

From March-May, Charis will be the initial point of contact for students, assisting with initial application or admissions questions and connecting prospective students with their advisors. She will also support students in New York (New York City and Upstate) and Tennessee (Memphis and Nashville) on behalf of Alexa.

Alma Mater: Loyola University New Orleans

Years at Relay: 1 month

Fatumata Bah

Senior Coordinator of Prospective Student Advising

With experience in Student Financial Services, Fatumata "Fatu" is your point of contact between confirmation and program start, for prospective students in Georgia and Texas (Dallas/Fort Worth, Houston, San Antonio and Texas distance).

Alma Mater: Stony Brook University

Years at Relay: 2

Office Hours:

  • Mondays: 2:00-3:00 pm CT/3:00-4:00 pm ET

  • Tuesdays: 2:00-3:30 pm CT/3:00-4:30 pm ET

  • Thursdays: 3:00-4:30 pm CT/4:00-5:30 pm ET

Junior Leyba

Coordinator of Prospective Student Advising

Bringing a background in teaching internationally, Junior is your point of contact between confirmation and program start, for prospective students in Colorado, Delaware, and Online (Florida, Louisiana, Ohio, Rhode Island).

Alma Maters: Adelphi University

Time at Relay: 2 months

Office Hours:

  • Tuesdays: 2:30-4:30 pm CT/3:30-5:30 pm ET

  • Thursdays: 2:00-4:30 pm CT/3:00-5:30 pm ET

Lionel Thomas

Senior Coordinator of Prospective Student Advising

As an expert in Relay policies and admissions support, Lionel is your point of contact between confirmation and program start, for prospective students in Connecticut, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

Alma Mater: Fashion Institute of Technology

Years at Relay: 4.5

Office Hours:

  • Tuesdays: 10:00 am - 12:00 pm CT/11:00 am - 1:00 pm ET

  • Wednesdays: 10:00 am - 12:00 pm CT/11:00 am - 1:00 pm ET

Pamela Garza

Manager of Prospective Student Advising

Like a pre-program advisor, Pamela is your point of contact between confirmation and program start, for prospective students in Illinois, Indiana, and Washington D.C.

Alma Maters: The University of Texas-Pan American & The University of Texas at San Antonio

Years at Relay: 3.5

Office Hours:

  • Wednesdays: 4:15-5:15 pm CT/5:15-6:15 pm ET

  • Thursdays: 2:00-4:00pm CT/3:00-5:00pm ET

Additional Office Hours:

Brendan (Memphis)

Tuesdays: 4:00-5:00 pm CT/ 5:00-6:00 pm ET

Fridays: 9:00-10:00 am CT/10:00-11:00 am ET

Arik (Nashville)

Tuesdays: 8:00-9:00 am CT/ 9:00-10:00 am ET

Thursdays: 12:00-1:00 pm CT/1:00-2:00 pm ET

Edgar (New York)

Thursdays: 12:00-1:00 pm CT/1:00-2:00 pm ET; 2:30-3:00 pm CT/3:30-4:00 pm ET

See our calendar and get in contact here.

Brittany Gibson

Director of Prospective Student Advising

Leading the Prospective Student Advising Team, Brittany is laser-focused on the prospective student experience.

Alma Maters: University of Texas at Austin & University of Washington - Seattle

Years at Relay: 6

Prospective Student Advising

At Relay, we approach our prospective student support through an advising model, building relationships full of empathy, cultural awareness, empowerment, and support. We are here to answer your questions and ensure you are on a pathway to success. Please sign up for our virtual office hours at calendly.com/psadvising or email us at support@relay.edu. We can't wait to connect with you!

Advisors can assist you on all things admissions experience. If you have a technical issue with the application or admissions checklist, please allow us 3-5 business days to resolve your issue.

Can't find the answers you're looking for? Visit the Relay Support Center.