3rd Grade

PAULETTE MARTINEZ

301

Paulette@ps330q.org

YVONNE BERKEL

302

Yvonne@ps330q.org

I grew up in East Elmhurst, Queens. For my undergraduate degree, I went to Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT. I majored in Sociology and Afro-American Studies. I received my Masters of Science in teaching at Brooklyn College. I worked for the NYCDOE for 6 years and then I left. This is my first year retuning to full time teaching with the NYCDOE. What I love the most about my job is the fact that I get to share my love of reading with my students and I get to help them develop as readers and writers. I like to cook, go out with friends to restaurants and also go out dancing. Most of all I love spending time with my kids.

MAUREEN COMBS

302

Maureen@ps330q.org

MAYURI MODI

303

Mayuri@ps330q.org

I grew up in Mumbai, India. I received my Undergraduate Degree in Economics from Queens College. I received my Masters Degree in Education from Queens College as well. I have been teaching in the NYC DOE for 4 years. I love guiding future scientists, artists, doctors, engineers, mathematicians, authors etc. I love seeing the excitement in kids' faces when they learn something new, and accomplish a task. I love spending time with my kids and husband. I love reading, traveling, and exploring different neighborhoods of New York City.

DARIA BELLUTI

303

Daria@ps330q.org

I grew up in Whitestone, NY. I graduated from St. John's University with a BS in Elementary Ed. and an MS in Literacy. This is my second year working for the NYCDOE. I love interacting with my students and making learning fun and exciting for them. I love helping them succeed by building their confidence. I enjoy getting to know all of my students and their families. My family is very important to me and I like to spend time with them, especially my 5 month old niece! In my free time, I love to shop, practice yoga (when I get the chance), and cook.

SINDY GRIFFIN

304

Sindy@ps330q.org

I grew up in Jackson Heights, Queens. I graduated from Flushing High School. I have a Bachelor's degree in Sociology from City College of New York and a Masters Degree in Education from Metropolitan College of NY. I have worked for the NYCDOE for 10 years. I love the fact that as an educator I hold the key to making a difference in a child's educational career. Some children might see math or reading as a challenge but I have the opportunity to show them that you can overcome these challenges. I have been given the gift of being a second mom in a room full of children who expect and deserve respect, support, comfort, and guidance. I also enjoy learning something new every school year from my students because they are unique in their own way and they are not shy about it :) I spend my free time with my family, especially my sons who think they are the Avengers. I love to smile and make people smile because a single smile can make a huge difference in a person's day.

LEAFY TSANG

305

Leafy@ps330q.org

I grew up in Westchester Sq. in the Bronx, and now live in Queens. I attended Plattsburgh State University where I received my bachelors in Childhood Education/English 1-6. Shortly after that, I received my masters in Childhood Special Education 1-6 at Fordham University. This will be my 8th year working for the DOE. I love that my class is filled with unique and diverse learners, each with something special to contribute or share with the class. One of the most gratifying things to see is the growth that children show, both academically and socially, from when they first walk into the classroom until the end of June. Also, seeing the look on students' faces when they get those "ah hah" moments is unparalleled. During the summer, I spend my time enjoying the longer days-- at the beach, summer concerts/festivals, or going on my next trip. When the first snow falls, I can't wait to pick up right where I left off in getting better at snowboarding. Some things I like to do all year round are trying out different restaurants/cuisines, karaoke, yoga, and checking out new exhibitions. I look forward to a year of teaching and learning at PS 330Q!

KETSARA MIXAY

306

Ketsara@ps330q.org

I grew up mostly in the Midwest but moved back to New York more than 10 years ago. I received my masters in Childhood Education from CCNY. I enjoy working with my students and helping them reach their goals through education. The one thing I love about teaching is that everyday is a journey. Journeys of growth -- as you grow, students grow, and the class as a whole grows. During my spare time, I love spending time with friends, traveling to new places, trying out new restaurants, and I also enjoy outdoor activities.

CARRI TO

Literacy Coach

Carri@ps330q.org

I grew up in Levittown, NY and graduated from Pace University with a BA in Elementary Ed, and a MA in Literacy. I have worked for the NYCDOE for twelve years. What I love my about my job are the students and families I work with. Our families are very supportive and our students are open minded and willing to try new things. We are a community working towards a common goal. I enjoy practicing yoga, reading, listening to music, traveling, and being anywhere outdoors in my free time. My favorite quote is..."You must be the change you wish to see in the world."-Gandhi