The Solar System

Study Unit for 4th Class Saint Patrick's Primary School

The Solar System is made up of all the planets that orbit our Sun. In addition to planets, the Solar System also consists of moons, comets, asteroids, minor planets, and dust and gas. Everything in the Solar System orbits or revolves around the Sun. There are eight planets in our Solar System. They are:

Click on the links above and find out all you can about our Solar System. Answer the questions and complete quizzes as you go.

How to remember the order of the planets:









The Sun is the star at the centre of our Solar System. The sun gives us both light and heat. It takes about eight minutes for the light of the sun to reach our planet, even though light travels at nearly 300,000 km per second!

All of the planets in the solar system orbit (move around) the sun. It takes a full year (365.25 days) for the Earth to travel around the sun. Every four years the extra quarter days are added together to give us an extra day, February 29th. This is called a Leap Year.

Take a look at this video. It will explain to you what a leap year is.

Watch this video before you go any further.