Orange County Head Start and VPI Programs

Orange County, Virginia


How do I Apply?

Orange County Head Start & Pre-K Programs is a central point of entry for several different pre-kindergarten options. These include federally-funded Head Start & Early Head Start serving children birth to five and expectant families and state-funded Virginia Preschool Initiative serving 4 year olds who will be attending kindergarten the following school year. We offer part day classes from 8am-2pm or 9am-1pm, five days a week. Visit the program page that best meets the needs of your family for a program description and an application.

Apply Now

Contact Us

Director: Heidi Lohr (hlohr@ocss-va.org)

Education Specialist: Charde Ferguson (cferguson@ocss-va.org)

Eligibility Supervisor: Keish Gourdine-Arnold (kgourdine@ocss-va.org )

Health & Nutrition Compliance Mgr: Dorothea Butts (dbutts@ocss-va.org)

Support Assistance: Paula Johnston (pjohnston@ocss.va.org)

Bookkeeper: TBA

Family Advocates

Chrissie Austin (caustin@ocss-va.org )

Jane Blakley (jblakley@ocss-va.org)

Susan Satterfield (ssatterfield@ocss-va.org)

Wendy Settle (wsettle@ocss-va.org)

Wanda Mullins (wmullins@ocss-va.org)


Main Phone Number: 540-661-4470

Fax: 540-661-4478



Calendar of Events

All events listed on the school calendar are tentative. As calendar items are confirmed over the coming weeks, they will be posted here.

Head Start News

Orange County Head Start News Blog

Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP)

Orange County Public Schools Head Start & Pre-K Programs announces the sponsorship of the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP). View Press Release