Awards & Recognitions

Since its founding in 2000, NYIT SHRM has won SHRM’s Outstanding Merit award three times (2011, 2014, and 2017) and SHRM’s Superior Merit award 12 times.

NYIT-SHRM WINS SHRM's Outstanding Merit Award for 2016 - 2017 !

New York Institute of Technology Student Group Receives Prestigious Award from SHRM, the World’s Largest HR Association

On June 2, the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) announced that the New York Institute of Technology SHRM student chapter (NYIT-SHRM) had won a 2016-2017 Outstanding Merit Award for providing superior growth and development opportunities to its student chapter members. The Outstanding Merit Award is the highest of four levels of merit awards presented by SHRM to student chapters.

Of the 327 student chapters from across the United States, NYIT-SHRM was one of only 20 chapters to win this award. NYIT-SHRM was also the only chapter to win this award in the New York City/Long Island region. The chapter previously won this award in 2011 and 2014.

The SHRM student chapter merit award program encourages student chapters to require excellence in the following areas: student chapter requirements, chapter operations, chapter programming and professional development of members, support of the human resource profession and SHRM engagement. To be considered for an Outstanding Merit award, a student chapter must first demonstrate excellence in activities related to these areas over the previous 12 months, and additionally provide evidence of a special project that was successfully implemented during that period.

In applying for the Outstanding Merit Award, NYIT-SHRM cited its special focus this year on a training project with HempsteadWorks to raise the work readiness of at-risk adults on Long Island, while building the professional HR competencies of its student members. Seven students worked on the project with the support of four faculty members. Programs were developed and delivered by students on four topics: resume building, networking, interviewing, and employee relations. Approximately 140 attendees participated in six workshops. The participants rated the program content as highly applicable to their needs, and rated very highly their increase in confidence after training. Hempstead Town Commissioner and Director of the Local Workforce Development Board, Ana-Maria Hurtado commented that the chapter developed “meaningful and helpful curricula [and] delivered them with outstanding success.”

“These chapters truly represent the future of the HR profession,” said Susan Post, SHRM-SCP, East Divisional Director at SHRM and the lead for SHRM’s Student Programs. “Their achievements go above and beyond their everyday academic and work commitments and we applaud the positive impact their efforts have on their schools, their local communities and beyond.”

For more information about SHRM's Student Chapter Merit Award Program winners for 2016-2017, CLICK HERE



The Chapter and its student leaders have been publicly recognized for excellence many times. The Chapter has won SHRM’s Outstanding Student Chapter Merit award three times (2011, 2014, and 2017) and SHRM’s Superior Merit award 12 times, nearly every year since the 2004 – 2005 academic year. In 2014, the Chapter won both the Outstanding Merit Award and SHRM’s Northeastern Regional Case competition, beating out graduate teams from NYU and Villanova. NYIT-SHRM was the only chapter in the United States to win both awards that year.

Chapter leaders have also been recognized by local professional chapters for distinctive leadership awards every year since 2010. These are the award winners by year:

2010: Kristen Fricione, Matt Halpern Award (SHRM-LI) and Archana Srinivasan, Harry Sherman Award (NYC-SHRM)

2011: Kevin Ketterhagen, Matt Halpern Award (SHRM-LI)

2012: Jennifer Rosenblum, Matt Halpern Award (SHRM-LI)

2013: Gina Iacobacci, Matt Halpern Award (SHRM-LI)

2014: Rebecca Weisz, Matt Halpern Award (SHRM-LI) and Brendan Feifer, Harry Sherman Award (NYC-SHRM)

2015: Kamala Arumalla, Matt Halpern Award (SHRM-LI)

2016: Reshma Shivdasani, Harry Sherman Award (NYC-SHRM)

2017: Melissa Shaver, Matt Halpern Award (SHRM-LI)