SHHS Driver's Ed

October class is full. We are now taking signups for November and January.

How to sign up:

1. Obtain a driver's permit at the DLD by passing the permit test.

2. Pay the fee $100 fee online at myschoolfees.com or in the finance office (Note: 9th graders must pay in the finance office). You'll need the receipt number for step 2.

3. Submit the signup form below-AFTER having obtained a driver's permit AND paid the $100.

November Driver's Ed Sign Up Sheet (begins Nov 4th at 5:30 am in room E104)

January Driver's Ed Sign Up List (begins Jan. 6th at 5:30 am in room E104)

HOW DO I GET MY LICENSE?

1. Obtain a Learner Permit (Drivers License Division) starting at age 15. Current cost is $19.

2. Register for Drivers Education class (Pay $100 fee online at Myschoolfees.com or to the finance office-write down the receipt number, then sign up for a class using the sign up sheets above.)

3. Attend 3 week class, 1 week range and 3 days of road practice with instructor. During the school year classes begin at 5:30 am in room E104.

4. Complete online *Safety and Trends Exam (not given in class, must do on your own).

5. Complete 40 hours practice driving time with parent/guardian (10 night hours required). T

6. Finalize license at Driver License Division once student is at least 16 years old and has completed all the above.

HOW TO REGISTER FOR DRIVER'S ED-

First, pay $100 Fee online at Myschoolfees.com or in the Finance Office (note: 9th graders must pay in the finance office). You must have already obtained a Driver's Permit-you will need the permit number when registering for the class.

Second, go to one of the links above and sign up for one of the monthly classes.

*REQUIRED: ONLINE SAFETY AND TRENDS EXAM

Attention parents & students. Utah State Legislature has added a 40 question written exam each person applying for a Utah state drivers license must pass with 100% accuracy before they can receive a license. Each person can take the test as many times as needed in order to pass. You can go back and review any question missed. This new law went into effect 01/01/2016. The website needed for this state exam is listed below. This test is done on your own, not with the Driver's Ed class.

https://secure.utah.gov/dlexams/

MORE DETAILS and INFO:

The Drivers Education Department at Salem Hills High School will be offering classes each month during the 2019-2020 school year. We must have 35 students to hold a class, so the dates each month are dependent on when 35 students are registered.

Certificates: Students will be given a certificate when they successfully complete the entire course including the driving portion. Certificates are not required at the DLD. They are only given as a courtesy. All driving and classroom records are now tracked online through the DLD.

Driver License Information

Age: A student may start a Driver Education class at SHHS no sooner than fifteen years of age and must have a valid state learner permit. A student may not receive a Utah Driver License until they are at least sixteen years of age.

State Requirements: A student must go to the Driver License Division (DLD) and successfully pass a written, eye test, and mental fitness test. A learner permit is valid for one year from date of issue and requires a nonrefundable fee of $19.00. A student must possess a learner permit for at least 6 months and pass a driver education course before they can apply for a driver license.

Learner Permit: Once a learner permit is obtained, a student may immediately begin to drive. The student may only operate a class D motor vehicle, and must have an approved driving instructor occupying the seat beside the student, or the student’s parent or legal guardian, who is at least 21 years of age and a licensed driver, sitting next to the student.

Utah Drivers License Division: Learner Permit

Nighttime Driving

A person, with a permit or driver’s license, younger than 17 years of age, whether a resident or nonresident of Utah, may not operate a motor vehicle upon any public roadway in Utah between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am. A driver younger than 17 may drive between these hours under the following exception:

  1. The driver is accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age who is occupying the seat next to the driver.
  2. The driver id driving in connection with the driver’s employment, including the trip to and from the driver’s residence and employment.
  3. The driver drives directly to the driver’s residence from a school-sponsored activity if transportation to the activity is provided by the school and the provided transportation commenced from and returns to the school property where the driver is enrolled.
  4. The driver is on assignment for a farmer or rancher and the driver is engaged in an agricultural operation.
  5. The driver is driving in an emergency.

Other Driving Restrictions:

A person may not operate a motor vehicle upon any public roadway with any passenger who is not an immediate family member of the driver until:

  1. Six months from the date the person’s driver license was issued: or
  2. The person reaches 18 years of age.

Exceptions:

  1. If accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age.
  2. The driver is on assignment for a farmer or rancher and the driver is engaged in an agricultural operation.
  3. In an emergency.

All individuals under the age of 18 years of age applying for the first time must complete 40 hours of driving a motor vehicle, of which at least 10 hours must be night-time hours. The hours of driving in an approved driver education course may be counted as part of this requirement. A parent or guardian must certify to the completion of this requirement when applying for a license.

Obtaining a driver license involves eight simple steps:

  1. Completion of an approved driver education course.
  2. Assumption of financial responsibility by a parent or legal guardian.
  3. Furnish positive identification. SS number- birth certificate
  4. Furnish evidence of residence address.
  5. Payment of applicable fees. Learner permit fee $19.00 and $30.00 original license fee.
  6. Completion of medical questionnaire and vision test.
  7. Completion of required skills or driving tests.
  8. A photo taken at the DLD (Driver License Division).


If you have any questions please email Eric Macdonald. eric.macdonald@nebo.edu

Thank you!