Asia Pacific Seminar on

Applied Topology and Geometry


#29 Date: 2022/5/27

Time: 9:30 (Bangalore, India), 12:00 (Philippines), 13:00 (Kyoto, Japan), 14:00 (Canberra, Australia)

Speaker: Tam Le (AIP center, RIKEN)

Title: Geometric Approaches for Persistence Diagrams in Topological Data Analysis

Abstract: Algebraic topology methods have played an important role for statistical analysis with complicated geometric structured data (e.g., material data, linked twist maps). Among them, persistent homology is a well-known tool to extract robust topological features, and outputs as persistence diagrams (PD). However, PD are point multi-sets which can not be used in traditional machine learning (ML) algorithms. In this talk, I will present two geometric approaches based on (i) Fisher information metric and (ii) optimal transport geometry with local structures (e.g., tree, graph) to develop novel kernels for PD that paves the way to apply kernel-dependent ML algorithmic approaches for PD in topological data analysis.

References

[1] Tam Le, Makoto Yamada. Persistence Fisher Kernel: A Riemannian Manifold Kernel for Persistence Diagrams. Neural Information Processing Systems (NeurIPS), 2018.

[2] Tam Le, Makoto Yamada, Kenji Fukumizu, Marco Cuturi. Tree-Sliced Variants of Wasserstein Distances. Neural Information Processing Systems (NeurIPS), 2019.

[3] Tam Le, Truyen Nguyen. Entropy Partial Transport with Tree Metrics: Theory and Practice. International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Statistics (AISTATS), 2021.

[4] Tam Le, Truyen Nguyen, Dinh Phung, Viet Anh Nguyen. Sobolev Transport: A Scalable Metric for Probability Measures with Graph Metrics. International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Statistics (AISTATS), 2022.

Slide link Movie link

Poster Session joint with AATRN!

Date: 2022/9/20

Time: 12:30 (Bangalore, India), 15:00 (Philippines), 16:00 (Kyoto, Japan), 17:00 (Canberra, Australia)

AATRN Poster Session Webpage: https://sites.google.com/view/aatrn-poster-session/home

Registration: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSf85ZMyVvcFYuIRqD6fLBEnS4vdBjBFNeY8vY7jAaK9azlFsg/viewform

About APATG

The Asia Pacific Seminar on Applied Topology and Geometry (APATG) is a seminar series covering topological data analysis, persistent homology, computational topology and geometry, random topology and geometry, and their applications.

The seminar will be held twice a month on Friday as a Zoom meeting starting from 10:30 in Bangalore, India, 14:00 in Kyoto, Japan, and 15:00 in Canberra, Australia as default, but may be changed if necessary. Each talk will be one hour plus Q&A.

Once you register the necessary information in the Registration page, you will receive the talk information with Zoom link by the day before each seminar. There is no need to register more than once. If you wish to unsubscribe, please send an email to "asia.pacific.atg(at)gmail.com".

Organizers

Emerson G. Escolar (Kobe, Japan)

Yasu Hiraoka (Kyoto, Japan)

Vanessa Robins (ANU, Australia)

D Yogeshwaran (ISI, India)


Contact: asia.pacific.atg(at)gmail.com