Frequently Asked Questions

Things you want and need to know about MS51!

The School Day

Helpful People and Contact Info

  • Address 350 Fifth Avenue between 4th & 5th Streets Brooklyn, NY 11215

  • Main office: 718)369-7603

  • Parent Coordinator, Julia Castro (ext 1333 or email jcastro@k051.org )

  • Pupil Accounting Secretary, Ms. Lacey (ext 1385 or email mlacey@k051.org) Attendance, Metro Cards, Transcripts, Address Changes Immunizations & more

  • Grade 7 Team: Assistant Principal, Ms. Speth ( ext 1441 nspeth@schools.nyc.gov ) Ms. Bosco School Counselor (ext 1311)

  • Grade 8 Team : Assistant Principal, Ms. Sterlis (ext 2062 msterlis@schools.nyc.gov) Ms. Zaengle School Counselor (ext 1313 dzaengle@schools.nyc.gov)

  • Grade 6 Team: Assistant Principal, Ms. CJ Giles ( ext 3451 cgiles@k051.org) Ms. Aslam School Counselor (ext 1314 aaslam@k051.org)

  • Principal, Neal L. Singh ( ext 1383 nsingh10@schools.nyc.gov)

  • Staff directory

  • General questions email solutions@k051.org

  • Parent Association Co-Leila Ligougne & Zoe Kashner middleschool51pa@gmail.com

Academics

  • All curriculum letters will be posted shortly

  • Talents

  • Project REAL (Reading Enriches All Lives) is a school-wide 20 minute after lunch silent ready 2 X's a week. The other 3 days homeroom teachers will focus on advisory.

  • Student K051 emails: All students will receive an email account within the first month of school. This will also give them access to a Google Drive

  • Pupil Path: Is a student information system for MS51 families and students. it allows them access to view important student and school information such as student attendance records, class schedules, assignments due dates, grades, school announcements and more. Information about how to enroll will be sent home within the first month of school

  • Homework Policy

  • Gym Uniforms: Uniforms (t-shirt and shorts) can be purchased during gym class, scholarships are available, please contact Julia Castro for more information (ext 1331 or jcastro@k051.org )

Family Engagement - Committees

  • Parent Association

  • School Leadership Team (SLT)

  • DUET (Diversity Unity Equity Team) : DUET plays a vital role in shaping a school culture that promotes an inclusive, diverse, and equitable learning environment. All MS51 students should feel that they belong and that their experiences and perspectives matter. All MS51 families are welcomed and their voices count. Duet Meets monthly, all are welcome! DIVERSITY PLAN

  • Special Education Parent Group: Run by our Assistant Principal Ms. Sterlis, parents of special needs students meet monthly to discuss concerns contact Ms. Sterlis msterlis@schools.nyc.gov

  • Family Engagement Monthly Morning workshops:TBA

  • Volunteers needed for: Picture Day, Talent Shows, Day trips, Translation/Interpretation; graphic design; drama help

  • After School clubs and programs

Miscellaneous: