The last date of registration for the competition has been extended to 3rd January, 2018.

All information related to the competition is now also available on

From 1st December 2018, all registration, submission, etc. for the competition will be through the mygov page.

This competition seeks proposals for three stations on Indian Railway Network

Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Ltd.

Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Limited (IRSDC), is a Special Purpose vehicle and a Joint Venture company of IRCON International Limited (IRCON) (A Govt. of India Undertaking, under Ministry of Railways) and Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) (a statutory authority under the Ministry of Railways). IRSDC has been mandated to develop/ re-develop the existing/new railway station(s) in India which will consist of upgrading the level of passenger amenities by new constructions/renovations including re-development of the station buildings, platform surfaces, circulating area, etc., to better standards so as to serve the need of passengers. The main objective of the company is to make Indian railway stations of international standards and quality.

International Design Competition-2017

An opportunity for

"Architects, designers, planners and students to participate in an International Design Competition for preparation of comprehensive schemes for redevelopment of three selected railway stations in India and winner to be appointed as consultant thereafter for carrying out detailed design."

Interested participants can compete in this 'two stage competition' under following categories:

Category-1: Consultants

A participant entity who possesses the requisite experience and capabilities required for participating in this competition and undertaking the Consultancy assignment on winning, for preparation of Station Development Plans. Consultants shall participate in this Competition either individually (the “Sole Firm”) or as lead member of a consortium of firms (the “Lead Member”) in response to this call for participation. The term participant (the “Participant”) means the Sole Firm or the Lead Member, as the case may be. The Participant shall be represented in this competition by a multi disciplinary team comprising of relevant experts led by a Team Lead, which meets the eligibility criteria laid out in this dossier.

An Architect registered with the Council of Architecture has to be a part of the team.

Registration fee : INR 10,000/- or US$ 160 per application

Category-2: Students

A team comprising of students who are enrolled in an accredited course (of planning, architecture or other allied disciplines) either as Bachelor`s or Master`s or PhD students. One team and its entire member can participate only for one station area.

Registration fees exempted for Category-2 teams

Competition Stages

Stage-1: Schematic Design Stage (Ideas Competition)

This stage is an open and anonymous competition

At this Stage participants are expected to submit broader ideas about the respective station areas to project how a station and its surrounding area could support people-oriented, thriving and vibrant urban center.

Both category participants are allowed to compete in Stage-1

Category-2 (students) participants shall be judged to select prize winners for Stage-1.

For Category-2 (students) participants this competition shall end at Stage-1 only.

Stage-2: Detail Design Stage (Detailed design competition)

This is a closed competition between Stage-1 winners under “Category-1”

(Maximum five Category -1 winners of stage -1 per station)

Implementable design schemes for station areas and other facilities will be sought from Category-1, Stage-1 winners. These should be intelligent, sensitive, and highly functional designs to adequately capture land value. The design of the regenerated Railway Stations should be balanced, i.e. architecturally ambitious, intelligently frugal, financially viable and beneficial for all stakeholders and users.

Only eligible Stage-1 winners under Category-1 applicants shall be allowed.